We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgian Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Georgian Guest House to your Saves list
Georgian Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3-5 Hotspur Street, Alnwick NE66 1QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Short visit 2 nights very comfy and clean rooms not the biggest but very well presented for 3 star owners very helpful pointing us to resteraunt pubs ect good well cooked breakfast try italians around the corner great value for money alnwick castle well worth a visit .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    22
    15
    7
See reviews for
28
46
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is my second review of this B. & B.; my first has mysteriously disappeared off tripadvisor. Yes it was a poor review but then I thought we were supposed to tell it how it was.

Our stay, there was 12 of us golfing, so we took 6 twin rooms, greeted by the owner who allocated rooms and took the full amount of our stay in the first 2 minutes of arrival. After that we never saw her again.

The rooms were tiny (cramped) extra bed had been move in (camp beds) and in some rooms the bed had to be climbed over to reach the other side.

During our stay of 4 nights no towels were changed, rooms were never cleaned and beds were never made.

Breakfast was the only good thing about the stay, hot and delicious,

There are better places to stay for £60 per night, so I suggest looking for them

Room Tip: Rated at 41 of 58 says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights couldn't ask for more room spotless very comfy jo was a great host Dave cooked a fab breakfast for a 3 star great service Alnwick a lovely place to visit will be back and will stay with jo again try the art house good food

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This B+B has an excellent location five minutes walk from Alnwick Castle and Gardens. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with all you need. Not all have en suite- but the private bathrooms are right outside the room door. There is off road car-parking, and under the helpful marshalling of the very friendly owners takes a suprising number of cars. Breakfast was good= great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight, had a great time, staff lovely, room clean and bed cumfy, geat value for money.....what more could you want. Alnwick is a great place to visit with loads to do around and about.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Where to start. No-one to meet us on arrival, had to ring one of several no's posted on the door. Parking was v v tight indeed and would not recommend attempting if you are a nervous parker. We had room 3 which had a shower in the room itself (a shower curtain hides your modesty) and the toilet was down a carpeted slope which was quite slippery when barefoot. Hand basin was tiny. For the first time EVER we were turned away from breakfast as there were not enough seats. Breakfast itself was ok - nothing special. The only time we saw the owner was to take our cash as we left. On the positive side, it is central. Whilst it isn't expensive, we have stayed in far superior B & B's for the same price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Georgian Guest House is a great place to stay -- cute, clean, comfortable, centrally located, with a very good breakfast. I really enjoyed being there. The most wonderful element of the Georgian House experience, though, was Jo the owner and her staff. They were so helpful during my stay. And after I checked out, they literally wound up saving the rest of my vacation. I left my wallet in my room and didn't discover it was missing until I was all the way to northern Wales on a coach tour. Jo arranged to ship it to me. I received it safe and sound with all the cash and credit cards still inside. I don't know what I would've done without Jo's help. Thank you Georgian House! I'm looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Guest House

Address: 3-5 Hotspur Street, Alnwick NE66 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A 3 STAR GUESTHOUSE IN THE CENTRE OF ALNWICK TOWN, NORTHUMBERLAND WE ARE 2 MINS WALK FROM ALNWICK CASTLE AND ALNWICK GARDENS ACROSS THE ROAD TO THE SHOPS,PUBS AND LOTS OF EATING PLACES A SHORT DRIVE TO THE BEACH OR INTO THE HEART OF NORTHUMBERLAND WE HAVE FREE WIFI THROUGH THE HOUSE ALL ROOMS HAVE TEA AND COFFEE TRAYS TV HAIRDRIERS,IRON AND IRONING BOARDS, SHOWER GEL AND HANDWASH A FULL ENGLISH BREAKFST IS SERVED WITH A FULL VEGETARIAN OPTION IF REQUIRED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Georgian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Guest House Hotel Alnwick
Georgian Guest House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgian Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.