We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic fun and History too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chillingham Castle

Chillingham Castle
Chillingham, Alnwick NE66 5NJ, England
44 (0)1668 215359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Thornton-Cleveleys
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eclectic fun and History too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a fun day out with the grandchildren and really made us chuckle at the collection of items on display. The kids loved the dungeons and the WW2 armoury. We were impressed what Sir H has accomplished with the renovations and its transaction into an extraordinary attraction. Nice gardens and tea room in all a very good day out

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    65
    31
    14
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited on a rainy day. Rooms are full of random artefacts. Tea room very good. Not the best attraction but ok for an hour or so.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“where do you start ......********”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

my wife didn't tell me what this place was about before we got there but upon interrogating the 3 extremely helpful stewards we soon had the picture of what goes on and why
yes there is a lot of junk but Sir Humphrey Wakefield has bought all over the world and at local auctions and other stately piles and he obviously buys to his taste and why not........we found it fascinating
there are ghosts here but the steward also told me some of the curtain swags were full of live bats (its against the law to kick them out so they have to put up with them) and its rather apt that the Wakefield crest has a bat so it all adds up with the owner being totally batty and off the wall!!!
Sir HW also bought this pile when no one else wanted it and he has saved it so don't knock his endeavour .....he has done what he can to keep the place going
we enjoyed our lunch in the café with its roaring log fire
our only gripe was that the car park was totally inadequate and full so we parked where we weren't meant to.........fortunately the owner was away in Turkey looking for a belly dancer to entertain the people who were disappointed........im sure we will never come across another of these anywhere in the uk.......well done

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Collection of Collectables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This impressive castle is filled with all sorts of collectables in no particular order however I enjoyed the eclectic mix and found lots to interest me. Disabled access isn't great as it's a medieval castle with uneven flagstones and narrow spiral staircases but perhaps there are other means of getting around the rooms. I'd enquire before visiting if your walking abilities are limited.
We ate in the cafe and thoroughly enjoyed our meal, ham and pineapple salad which was very fresh and filling. The staff throughout were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We both found the gardens disappointing but overall I enjoyed the whole experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a shame it was not what we expected, not a lot to see? some of the rooms were decorated beautifully, others were not and appeared that as there was not anything to put in them structured they appeared to be full of junk? just scattered here and there not very clean either. We had coffee & cake in the cafe which we enjoyed and the big fire was very welcoming. We walked around the gardens and again we were surprised at how untidy they were compared to other places we have visited, we assume that it must be a funding issue or lack of staff possibly? we also walked the grounds and went to the lake which was a beautiful walk through lots of blue bells and wild flowers. Sadly we will not re visit here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillingham Castle also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Chillingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chillingham Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.