We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely morning out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alnwick Garden

The Alnwick Garden
Denwick Lane, Alnwick NE66 1NQ, England
01665 511350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely morning out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited the gardens with our three year old son and had a great morning out. We could of spent longer as the weather was good but had promised our son to go elsewhere.

Very picturesque, plenty of exploring to be done - our three year old loved the water features and the bamboo tunnels. We didn't do the poison garden tour this time as we have done it previously and thought our son may of been bored (and wanted to touch) during the tour.

It was a costly visit, nearly £30 (entrance fees for the two of us + car parking) but we did enjoy it. If you took a picnic or if came back in the same day then it would be better value. We had a coffee in the cafe area and it was reasonable, with similar pricing to high street coffee shops.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    425
    226
    114
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The grand cascade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was a late spring this year and plants are late to flower but the garden has a good structure with the grand cascade is the central feature. The cherry orchard was just coming into blossom.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fab day out for all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been to Alnwick Garden today again this time with my rainbow unit!!!, the girls all had a fab day and absolutely loved the water fountains and the water pistol games!!!! We were lucky that we had sunshine and a glorious day! All of the staff are very helpful. I would definitely recommend this as a day out whether with the family, friends or if like me run a youth group it's well worth a visit with so much to do! A visit to he treehouse is a must!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The poison garden is well worth a tour, especially if you have an amusing guide. The treehouse and bamboo labryinth are fun and the water feature spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A must visit attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

During a recent stay in the area we visited the Alnwick Garden and what a pleasure it was, the gardens are so well laid out and lots of plants were just in flower so looked so attractive. The poison garden was a delight and so very amusing due to the guide who showed us round. We visited the cafeteria and the prices were reasonable, the cakes delicious. We had planned on visiting the castle at the same time but spent longer than we anticipated in the gardens. The gift shop is well stocked with some interesting items. Well worth a visit, enjoyed it immensely

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alnwick Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.