We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable hotel with stunning dining room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly comfortable hotel with stunning dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here, the staff were friendly and helpful, my room (the Bamburgh) was big, clean and comfortable, nice shower, good food at Hardy's Bistro, and breakfast in the Olympic Suite (from the Titanic's sister ship) was a visual treat with sun on leaves through the tall lattice windows and the lovely oak panelling (the food was fine too!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you so much for you review, I will be sure to share it with the hotel team who will be very proud to hear your praise. Kind Regards, Paul Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    216
    132
    66
    25
See reviews for
70
364
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

If you are visiting beautiful Alnwick, do not ruin your visit by staying at the White Swan. Although it has a good central location, the hotel has little else to offer. Rooms are small, stuffy and overpriced and some of the staff are less than helpful/polite. If you want somewhere far more inviting and comfortable, look at the Holly Lodge B and B - it has recently opened and offers excellent all-round accommodation. Aside from the friendly staff and great facilities, Holly Lodge also provides very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick. We view all feedback as critical to our commitment to customer service and hospitality. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your bedroom allocation within the hotel and are disappointed that you did not request to speak directly with me when with us. Please do contact the hotel directly if I can be of any further assistance. Kind Regards, Paul Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The younger less experienced members of the reception staff were the best staff in the hotel. The manager was grumpy and frequently chewed out his staff in the public areas, usually because they were offering a customer service. He was a 'can't do that' kind of manager. In the restaurant food was served across diners as well as from the side, unwanted cutlery was cleared by taking hold of the business end rather than by the handles' - I wonder if these were washed before being relaid for another diner? Empty plates were cleared before other diners at the table had finished eating. My room wasn't cleaned on two of the three days I stayed there, used crockery and glassware in the room were not cleaned/replaced. A change of senior management to someone concerned with customer service would go a long way to turning this place into a much better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
We are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with ourselves, and are deeply concerned that you did not request to speak to myself or a senior member of the hotel management team if you were not enjoying your time with us. Any cutlery which has been laid on our dining tables and unused is indeed removed, cleaned and polished as a standard prior to being used for other guests. We follow requests stringently from group leaders when we enjoy large bookings at the hotel, and we are sorry if these inconvenience you in any way. We offer a high level of customer service and actively listen to our guests, my personal commitment to this philosophy can clearly be seen in the responses we extend to our customers on this forum. If I can be of any further help please do contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed at The White Swan on the 23rd July with my partner for a family wedding, on arrival there was a small car park to the rear of the hotel but this was full so we ended up having to pay for parking elsewhere.
The staff were polite and friendly when checking into our room. However when we got to our hotel room it was rather on the small size and had to come out of the room just to turn around in it! Although it was small it was clean and tidy.
After the wedding and arriving back at the hotel at 2am we were locked out for at least 20mins we were knocking on the doors and windows but nobody answered until i eventually had to ring the reception to say we were standing outside.
I then asked the night porter for a soft drink but we were refused any refreshments and only allowed a jug of ice and water.
The breakfast was OK but not much variety basically would have been a lot easier and cheaper to have stayed in a B&B or Travelodge.
This hotel is definately over pirced at £130 and would not recommend it.

Dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thanks for letting us know your thoughts following your visit to attend a family wedding locally. We are glad to learn that you found our reception team courteous and friendly. Owing to our excellent town centre location we are limited with regards to car parking availability. We have some 33 car parking spaces and 57 bedrooms whcertainly investigate your comments with our night management team however, if you are in a position to call the hotel and speak directly with myself so that we can glean more information that would be most helpful. Kindich are extended to our guests on a first come first serve basis. We do feature this information on our website, and it is free of charge to park in two long stay car parks to the rear of the hotel each evening from 6pm till 8am. We will Regards, Paul Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had 3 rooms on the second floor, which were all hot and stuffy, because they were attic rooms with small windows. At £130 each for B&B was we felt too expensive. Will not stay again at those prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for your review of The White Swan Hotel. We have some 57 bedrooms at the hotel, all of which are very individual in style and layout. I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the allocation of your bedrooms on this occasion with us. A member of senior hotel management is always available for our guests to discuss any concerns, and I am confident that on this occasion we potentially could have changed your bedrooms to ones more suitable had we been aware of your discontent. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had a lovely time at this hotel...Staff were very friendly and efficient.
However the breakfast staff in the beautiful dining room were appalling.. They huddled in a group watching us with miserable faces, When i had finished my breakfast my plate was wipped away by the women in charge,,while my husband was still eating his breakfast. Things improved slightly the next morning and by the 3rd morning (today) there was a lovely young man in charge and it made all the difference.
A special mention must go to Jannick, Matthew and Laura who looked after us so well in Hardys Bistro..they are a credit to the hotel.
The food in Hardy's was also first class.
We are looking forward to returning in the near future,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Many thanks for expressing your thoughts regarding your recent visit to The White Swan Hotel. Jannick, Laura and Michael all were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service within our Hardy’s Bistro. We have ensured that all the management team are aware of your positive rating and kind comments coupled with addressing your issues relating to the staff within our breakfast restaurant. Kind Regards, Paul Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Booked this hotel with friends for the Jools Holland concert on the 17th July 2010.
Attended the same concert in 2008 but stayed at a lovely B&B in Alnmouth on that occasion. Decided to book the Swan Hotel this time as it is in a short walking distance of the castle.
From the outset this Hotel is so far below the level of service and welcome we received in 2008 that they may as well have been on different planets that 6 miles apart.
On arrival the reception staff are friendly enough, if not slightly robotic with their welcome speech. It was obvious that the most important thing was to obtain your credit card details prior to handing over your room keys !
The rooms that we were allocated are situated in an annex on the ground floor which you have to walk across an open courtyard to access.
The rooms are average with no particular feel about them.
Within minutes of arriving the toilet decided to stop working and a quick inspection (no I am not a plumber) identified the problem as a broken 'paper clip' being the only thing attaching the handle to the plunger !!!
Reported fault to reception who sent a man to re-attach the 'paper clip' !
Later met with friends for a drink in the Hotel bar, 'Hardy bistro'.
Extremely average and would not recommend it as a place to spend the evening.
Following the concert our friends and we decided to have a night cap in the Hotel. Several other guests who had been at the concert also had similar thoughts.
Now you would believe that the Hotel management may have had an idea that guests may return for some drinks.
No such luck, despite being fully booked and this being possible one of the busiest nights of the year no provision was made whatsover.
The previously mentioned 'Hardy Bistro' was closed and off limits Guests sheperded into a room with a small bar which held hardly any alcohol. All drinks had to be ordered with staff who then left the room walked across to the closed 'Hardy Bistro' obtained your drinks before returning to take another order.
The three members of staff in duty appeared totally un-prepared for this influx of guests. Ok I exaggerate, maybe 20 guests !!!!
Some unplesant bickering was then witnessed between staff, all of whom should have known better.
Next morning at breakfast was not much better. Staff at the restaurant avoided looking at you for fear of being asked to bring some tea to your table. All appeared dis-interested and miserable would not be a strong description to use.
This Hotel is set in a superb location with an obvious history behind it.
Everything about it should be classy with attention to detail.
This Hotel lets itself down on both fronts.
I for one will not be returning to the Swan Hotel nor recommending it to anyone else.
If Jools Holland returns to Alnwick for another concert I will return but will choose to stay elsewhere in Alnwick or nearby. Anywhere else will surely be a more enjoyable experience than the disappointment that my friends, wife and I endured.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review The White Swan Hotel, we truly value all customer feedback. During your stay we note that you were allocated a ground floor room which can be accessed by crossing a small garden area or alternatively by going through the hotel bedroom corridors negating the need to walk outside. We do actively encourage guests to access the ground floor rooms via the garden as this is the quickest route, however it is not necessary to do same should you wish to stay in-doors. As we are a listed building the layout provides a uniqueness which the majority of our guests enjoy. We do ask all our guests on departure if they have enjoyed their stay with us, and our aim is always to address concerns as they happen. Maintenance was being conducted within our Hardy’s Bistro on the return of some 18 guests for drinks within our Castle Suite and we are sorry that you felt we were not prepared for these guests. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Paul Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Address: Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.