We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Nottingham UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We spent 4 nights at half board and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay. We were a motorcycle group and the location is excellent for touring. Parking was available offroad. Both the dinner meals and the breakfasts were served in the Olympic Suite and our tables were always kept reserved for us. On two nights there was a coach party staying and the staff ensured our meals were not delayed in any way. All our rooms ,20 of them, were of a high standard Its the place to stay if you wish to visit Northumberland . .

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    233
    137
    68
    25
See reviews for
75
387
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights with our daughter. The room was spacious with a view of Alnwick castle. The hotel is part modern and part historical which was quite quirky. The breakfast, which was a buffet style could not be faulted and the dining room was very impressive. We ate in Hardys Bistro that was attached to the hotel and the food and service was excellent - the hotel itself had an a la carte menu and you had to dress for dinner. We didnt think our noisy daughter would be welcome to other guests there but it would be perfect for a romantic meal! The staff were very friendly and efficient with our requests. The room was quite a walk from the reception but there was an alternative entrance/exit to the car park. I would recommend to anyone with walking difficulties to request a room near to the reception, although most of the traditional suites seemed to be located here. My only gripe was it was a bit dusty in parts of the room - the cleaners needed to get their dusters out more often! Overall a nice place to stay and very centrally located for Alnwick and the castle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I can not understand some of the adverse comments made. We stayed 4 days and found the room excellent, the staff pleasant and all the meals were superb. The selection of food at the breakfast buffet was also very good. We could not fault the Hotel. Evidently some people must be impossible to please.

John T Torquay

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were wary about the hotel after reading critical reviews after booking. However our room was comfortable, clean and well decorated. The staff were very efficient, some a little brusque, but overall very friendly.
We ate in the bistro on two occasions and the food and service were good, certainly as good as anywhere else we ate.
Breakfasts were good, food was refreshed regularly, although there was no difference in choice from day to day.
Hotel is excellently placed for visiting Alnwick Gardens, just a short walk form the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Couldn't fault anything. Staff were friendly, room was great and very clean. Food was of a high standard. Hotel was well situated. Wouldn't hesitate to recomend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

What is wrong with everyone? All the negative reviews were making us wish we'd spent our Tesco vouchers elsewhere! We stayed here for 2 nights in Room 8 - ground floor with a window onto the street (according to some reviews, one of the 2 worst rooms in the hotel). Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was perfect and the noise from the street - what noise?? Breakfast was great, never ran out of anything. A most enjoyable stay. The only thing we didn't like was the plastic coffee stirrers in the rooms - real spoons please!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The hotel is in the centre of Alnwick, and an easy walk to both the castle and gardens. Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the main street. Some noise from traffic and people wandering home after a night out - but nothing to stop us sleeping. The room was fine, if fairly basic and no issues with cleanliness. Plumbing needed attention though, as it was very noisy at times.
We had an evening meal included in our weekend package - we both enjoyed the meal, it was nicely presented and with adequate portions. Breakfast was fine - help yourself buffet.
All the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly.
The hotel has no lift, and the dining room is up a short flight of steps, so not for those with mobility problems.
We never managed to get a space in the hotel car park, so parked in a public car park at the rear of the hotel.
We booked the hotel via its own website and got the package cheaper than was being offered by some discount websites. The inclusion of dinner on the first night made it a very good value deal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Address: Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.