We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice weekend break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here with parents in dec 13 and found it a quiet pleasing hotel. Rooms where bright and spacious only problem was rooms were located right next to the main road. Breakfast was of a good standard but on the 2nd day did take a little longer (wedding party seemed to get most priority). Parking was also an issue as wedding party over took the car park and we ended up getting a ticket having accidently parked in a pay and display area at the front. The staff were however very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay at the White Swan 3 months ago in December. I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    233
    137
    68
    25
See reviews for
75
387
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and 2 children were kept awake between 11pm and 4am by drunken abusive singing in the street that was almost continuous. It seems every pub crawl in the town pass by this hotel and the windows in the room are so thin that you could hear all the swearing and shouting as if it was in the room. Once the last cat-calls, puking, fighting and chanting had died down, we were left with the annoying sound of the loudly rattling windows caused by what was only a mild breeze. The church bells then started in the early hours and go off every 15 minutes.

I realise that planning permission to increase the sound proofing in listed buildings can be problematic but I have seen it tastefully done in hotels all over the UK and around the world. Hoteliers quoting such regulations strikes me as a convenient excuse to hide behind when justifying their not wishing to rectify the most basic of requirements. It is obviously the case in this hotel when you look at the tiredness of the rooms where even a valance to cover the ripped and tatty beds appears to be unaffordable. When I mentioned the terrible night to the manager on reception the next morning, it was obvious that she did not care 2 hoots about our awful night's sleep. Having stayed in very expensive and very cheap hotels all over the world, I doubt I will ever spend such a sleepless night in a hotel ever again!!
If you want your kids to learn lots of new swear words, this is the place for you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer and forthcoming guests to the White Swan Hotel,

As you will see from many of my previous responses I have never denied that on occasions there is noise from the street. furthermore, I have always been honest in the sense that Alnwick is no different from any other town or city where noise from the street is expected on occasions. Personally, speaking as someone who stays in the hotel in a room at the front for at least 5 days a week ans for the past 18 months, I have been fortunate enough not to experience the level of noise described in this review.

Neither the hotel or myself have ever used the excuse of planning permission as a reason not to install secondary glazing on a period property that in parts is centuries old. In this day and age however, a modicum or good sense must prevail.

It is also worth mentioning that I have had numerous conversations with the local authorities and police who ultimately are responsible for the management of this.

We do not set out to cause upset, distress or unsatisfactory stays at the hotel and I believe it is evident from the many positive reviews of the White Swan that my staff do care about the guest.

I apologize that on this occasion we did not fulfill expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely hotel in the middle of Alnwick. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the young man in bar/bistro. Room spotless, very comfortable bed and modern en-suite. Even an iron and ironing board if any was staying for a week or two. Food was first class and beautifully presented

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the White Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at the white swan, Alnwick for valentines night. Good value at £99 for DBB and a bottle of Prosecco. Staff extremely welcoming and friendly and the hotel was quaint and clean. Because the food was so lovely, tasty and well presented, we could have done with bigger portion as the mains was on the small side. My only other minor niggle was that the room was very hot through the night even with the radiator turned off. Lovely stay, lovely hotel and lovely staff therefore would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stay on at the hotel on Valentines weekend, and from arrival to checking out I can not praise the hotel and staff high enough. Receptionist has friendly and extremely professional. After checking in we went to the bistro area for afternoon tea, to be served the most amazing afternoon tea, loved the detail in creating the swans too out of the pastries. Despite there being a rather large wedding in the hotel, the staff still served quickly and spared time to check that we were ok and happy with our afternoon tea at several points.

Dinner was really amazing, glass of Presecco served as soon as we sat down with canapés, then a beautiful 3 course dinner. The quality and attention to detail was on par with any top hotel, if not better than some. The service was excellent too, again pleasant attentive staff.

We loved breakfast served in The Olympus restaurant too, so nice to see such history and restored beautifully.
The rooms were a little dated, however were clean and warm. I would 100% recommend The White Swan to anyone and will certainly be returning, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review of the the hotel. It is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The best Valatines ever. High tea in the afternoon, Presecco & canapes followed by a fabulous 3 course evening meal and then a full english in the morning. A good room, excellent service and a great location. Definitley do it again.

Room Tip: Room 211 is at the back. Large and away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Valentines break and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARBROATH
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The White Swan had a special over night stay at £99 per couple, for dinner bed and breakfast along with a bottle of Prosecco. My wife and I received a warm welcome and were given a very large and clean room overlooking the town. Our three course meal was excellent as was the service and with breakfast in the morning there were no complaints over the quality of the food. Parking was available behind the hotel and being on the main street of Alnwick, making the town easily accessible. All in all great value overnight stay with excellent friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White Swan hotel and took advantage of our £99 pound dinner, bed and breakfast offer with a bottle of prosecco.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Address: Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.