We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
north east england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lovely night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely hotel in the middle of Alnwick. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the young man in bar/bistro. Room spotless, very comfortable bed and modern en-suite. Even an iron and ironing board if any was staying for a week or two. Food was first class and beautifully presented

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the White Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    216
    132
    66
    25
See reviews for
70
364
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at the white swan, Alnwick for valentines night. Good value at £99 for DBB and a bottle of Prosecco. Staff extremely welcoming and friendly and the hotel was quaint and clean. Because the food was so lovely, tasty and well presented, we could have done with bigger portion as the mains was on the small side. My only other minor niggle was that the room was very hot through the night even with the radiator turned off. Lovely stay, lovely hotel and lovely staff therefore would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stay on at the hotel on Valentines weekend, and from arrival to checking out I can not praise the hotel and staff high enough. Receptionist has friendly and extremely professional. After checking in we went to the bistro area for afternoon tea, to be served the most amazing afternoon tea, loved the detail in creating the swans too out of the pastries. Despite there being a rather large wedding in the hotel, the staff still served quickly and spared time to check that we were ok and happy with our afternoon tea at several points.

Dinner was really amazing, glass of Presecco served as soon as we sat down with canapés, then a beautiful 3 course dinner. The quality and attention to detail was on par with any top hotel, if not better than some. The service was excellent too, again pleasant attentive staff.

We loved breakfast served in The Olympus restaurant too, so nice to see such history and restored beautifully.
The rooms were a little dated, however were clean and warm. I would 100% recommend The White Swan to anyone and will certainly be returning, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review of the the hotel. It is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The best Valatines ever. High tea in the afternoon, Presecco & canapes followed by a fabulous 3 course evening meal and then a full english in the morning. A good room, excellent service and a great location. Definitley do it again.

Room Tip: Room 211 is at the back. Large and away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Valentines break and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARBROATH
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The White Swan had a special over night stay at £99 per couple, for dinner bed and breakfast along with a bottle of Prosecco. My wife and I received a warm welcome and were given a very large and clean room overlooking the town. Our three course meal was excellent as was the service and with breakfast in the morning there were no complaints over the quality of the food. Parking was available behind the hotel and being on the main street of Alnwick, making the town easily accessible. All in all great value overnight stay with excellent friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White Swan hotel and took advantage of our £99 pound dinner, bed and breakfast offer with a bottle of prosecco.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

From stepping into the hotel the staff went the extra mile to make our stay as warm and welcoming as they could. Each and every one of them is a credit to this hotel.
I stayed on the DBB package with my teenage daughter because of the Titanic connection. We also had afternoon tea which I thought was a little pricey at £12.95 each but when it arrived it was well worth the money.
The menu was top quality but by daughter is a very fussy eater. When she nervously asked for something not on the menu this was no problem at all. The waiter gave her sheets of information about the Olympic and visited our table often to mention different facts which would be of interest. More than one member of staff offered to take photos for us. Nothing was too much trouble.
The only reason I havent given this hotel 5 stars is because the room was pretty standard - nothing special but for the price we were perfectly happy with a standard room. We had a great stay and this was because of the amazing staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the White Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Enjoyed a 2 night package in this comfortable hotel. The staff service was impeccable and the food was very good. There was some street noise on the Saturday night (but not the hotel's fault). I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would commend manager Yannick and his staff for his hospitality. Evening meal and breakfast in the Olympic dining room are a real treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many thanks and regards

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Address: Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.