We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

lovely clean and comfortable hotel great food in the bistro , very cheerful and helpful staff and in a great area , a few issues at breakfast it was slow but good quality and freshly cooked . i would have no problem recommending and hope to go back soon

Room Tip: 117 was cool and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your feedback. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the White Swan Hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    233
    137
    68
    25
See reviews for
75
387
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Cheshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The White Swan is just about as centrally positioned in Alnwick as it could possibly be - and within walking distance of the wonderful Alnwick Castle. "A good choice", we mused. We were given a reasonably sized room at the back overlooking the carpark - "Good" we thought, no street traffic noise. The sash windows opened - but only about 6 inches. Not enough in high, hot summer but no doubt some self-imposed health-and-safety nonsense. No aircon or fan, of course!
Unfortunately the car park is where the early morning staff seem to meet and greet each other and trollies, boxes and other containers are moved about in the early morning creating sleep-depriving levels of noise.
The car park is small and not once in the four days that we stayed were we able to get a spot at any time. Parking on the street was easy and plentiful - but pay-and-display and a two-hour maximum stay during 'office hours', so a real 'pain'!
We were staying 'bed and breakfast' - the bed was fine, the breakfast was an experience!
The constantly polite and smiling young staff were running around like headless chickens. Despite a sign asking guests to 'wait to be seated' there was clearly nobody designated to 'meet and greet'. Guests were left standing for up to five minutes with waiters rushing past ignoring them. There was clearly nobody designated to clear and reset tables, nor anybody checking that the items on the help-yourself counters didn't run out. This may sound a bit picky but it happened EVERY day!
On our last morning, it took over half-an-hour from ordering my poached egg on toast to its arrival - and then only after two reminders.
Note to management: get a time-and-motion expert in to sort it out or, cheaper and for free coming from me, give the breakfast staff designated roles!
And not cheap at £125 per night!

Room Tip: At the front you get street noise and at the back you get car-park noise as described. Take your pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the White Swan. I am sorry that certain elements of your stay where below satisfactory. Also, your feedback on associated noise is appreciated and to be investigated further.
I do hope overall you enjoyed your time in Alnwick and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the White Swan.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my second visit, having stayed the previous October. Again, I have to say I was not disappointed. On arrival the car park was full, so went into the pay one at rear intending to move car when space became available. I am a disabled lady, and on struggling to walk to reception with hubby, we were stopped by a gentleman ( he may have been assistant manager?) who informed us to fetch our car back and park over the kitchen doors. He then escorted me to reception, where our room was changed to a downstairs room, nearer to all the facilities. He was very friendly and attentive, as were all the staff throughout our entire stay.
Ok, this is an old building, and yes there are areas which could see some improvement, but personally the cleanliness of the rooms and the staff out weigh any negativity. The food in restaurant was extremely good and well presented, nothing is too much trouble, and even at their busiest times ( yes you may get a bit of a wait), but it is done with a smile and apology. The bed was large and comfortable, with all normal facilities within the room
It is ideally situated for Castle/ Gardens and Barter Books.
We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many Thanks for your recent stay with us at the White Swan Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guisbough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to visit castle and gardens. which we enjoyed immensely. This is a very old hotel, but kept clean room, spacious bedroom and a good sized bed, plenty of hot water. We ate in Hardy,s bistro the two nights, food good staff hard working and pleasant, no complaints. also very good breakfast. The classic break lodges do very with different offers.

Room Tip: none our room was ok but maybe they have better I don't no
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the White Swan Hotel in Alnwick. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first night was fine except our Superior Room was supposed to have Fruit, Chocolates,Wine, Robes and slippers and water which were clearly missing. We asked at reception and they duly delivered but a disappointing start. Breakfast next morning was a fiasco! Had to wait approx. half an hour to be seated, not enough staff to clear empty tables and when we did get seated there were no glasses for the juice, no orange juice and no fresh fruit! Not the staff's fault they were clearly run off their feet! Dinner that night turned into another fiasco, there was a power cut in the town, not the hotels fault I know but we were told to sit tight and have a drink in the bar until they could find out any information which they did by trawling the town as they could not ring the services as their phones were down also! Not good! We were then told (after about an hour) that the power would be back on at 20.45 which was too late for us to eat, so as we had paid for our three course dinner we asked if we could have sandwiches which were brought to us and we had a dessert from the menu to follow. I had to ask for a discount the next morning when we checked out because we didn't have a three course meal and were told they could knock £20 from our bar bill which I didn't feel was very acceptable as 2 three course dinners would come to much more than that but didn't argue as just wanted to go home. On the good side the waiters/waitresses were excellent but the management need to wake up. Why were there no back up for the power failure as apparently its not the first time it has happened? Consequently would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many Thanks for your feedback following your stay at the White Swan Hotel. It goes without saying that we did not meet our usual standards on this occasion without the added complication of a power cut in Alnwick. Which of course did not help matters.
Although this was discussed and an reimbursement was made i would be happy to discuss this further should you wish. I can be contacted directly at the hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to discuss this further.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a wedding. Many of our relatives had tried to book in but could not get a room (in-laws tried in January!). We thought that we were on to a winner here!

Firstly, there was nowhere to park. Seen this before, you park in the NCP and the hotel pays - NO!!! We had to park in a municipal car park and pay for the ticket.

Hacked off after a six hour drive with delays on the M1 and a terrible accident just south of Newcastle, having dropped the said in-laws at their beautiful country house retreat, we asked about food. Restauarant closed 15 minutes ago, but, to her credit, the receptionist asked chef if he could rustle something up. No. Oh well.... we thought we would eat in the Bistro. Think again, Chef closes this at 21.00, too. We were told we could have a drink though!

We foolishly assumed the Bistro would serve a sandwhich or a bar snack.... think again....not even a bag of crisps or some peanuts! My husband ordered a draft lager, he sent it back. Flat and tasting bad. He changed brands - same again.

He ended up, after a long day at work, followed by a hot and stressful drive, buying a kebab from the shop over the road. There was no room service after 9pm either!

Our 'double' room was ridiculoulsy small (it would barely pass for a single in my experience) and was at the front of the hotel. It was so hot, we had to open the window the 4" it allowed and we had the most dreadful nights' sleep I have ever edndured in a hotel. The noise from the road was intolerable. Boy racers, drunks, police sirens etc and then the 5am delivery vans. The bed was so small that I fell out of it in the middle of the night, rolling over! No room between the bed and the cabinet on one side and the bathroom on the other. No room even for a stool at the dressing table, which was a few inches from the bottom of the bed. Like others, we had an ice bucket, with nothing in it. We didn't even have complimentary water.

In the morning, we asked to be moved. This was not a problem. The staff were very understanding and obliging. I am aware that the hotel is not responsible for street noise, but if they know there is a problem, then maybe they could double glaze the windows of the noisy rooms and install air-con or offer a fan at the least. They did appear to acknowledge that it was hot up there, as if others had complained.


On the plus side, the room and bathroom were very clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating; they were all very friendly and attended to our requests. We packed our bags and housekeeping took them to a nice room at the back of the hotel whilst we were away. It felt like it was 3 times the size! Coffee table, armchairs, dressing table with stool. Still no water but the ice bucket was there! Still not worth £125, in our experience.

A better nights' sleep was had. Breakfast was the only meal taken and was mediochre on both days. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon or kippers incurred a £3 supplement ( which turned out to be £3.50 with the VAT - not declared on the menu). The salmon was horrible and the eggs inedible - but like so many Brits, we didn't complain. We just wanted to go home.

Lovely, friendly helpful staff let down by a tired hotel which offers very little for a discounted £125 per night B&B.

We will not be returning, nor would we recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many Thanks for your recent review. I would like to extend my apologies for the unsatisfactory elements of your stay with us at the White Swan. I do appreciate the fact that you brought this to our attention so that at least we had the opportunity to move your room for you. In terms of our food offering, although our kitchens close at 9pm, selected items on the room service menu are available for 24hrs and this is highlighted in the guest compendium. i am sorry that this was not communicated to you. We have not previously encountered issues with our lager and this requires further investigation. We do maintain the beer lines and equipment on a weekly basis to ensure that we do not have flat or bad tasting beer.
I would be more than happy to discus in more detail should you wish and I can be contacted directly at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed for 1 night so I could visit Alnwick castle. I also wanted to eat in the famousd dining room. The room was down windy corridors, but I was advised there was an easier way across the courtyard. the food was good and the service in the Dining Room was friendly and professional. I would stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Address: Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.