We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alnwick Youth Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alnwick Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alnwick Youth Hostel
Save
You added Alnwick Youth Hostel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   34 - 38 Green Batt, Alnwick NE66 1TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Alnwick Youth Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've stayed here several times before, standard of accommodation is very high for the price charged, ensuite family room in a town like this would be v expensive in a b&b and no Travelodge options.

Only thing I'd say is that the staff, while helpful, were a bit thin on the ground, reception not manned in the evening we were there and no info displayed about cost of breakfast.

V good for self-catering though (unlike many English hostels) with plenty of room to prepare and eat your own food.

Alnwick is a great wee town (although charges for Castle are way too steep).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwickyh, Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for your review.

We have a big notice board next to reception with the price of breakfast displayed there. We will try to do more to make guests aware of this.

Sadly on the night you arrived we were also accommodating and feeding a group, so weren't able to operate reception at the same time. We have now recruited another member of staff for the summer season, so will be more available.

Its worth remembering that your Alnwick Castle ticket can be unlocked so you can visit as many times as you like for 12 months from the date the ticket was issued. We always suggest this is a good plan, even if you only visit once more, it gives you much better value.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really do value the comments that are left here.

Best wishes

Andrew
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
15
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great building, room just what you need, we had double en suite, clean, warm, crisp white bed linen, no frills. Great communal cooking facilities and a dining room which looked lovely, tho we didn't eat there. Friendly staff. Great location. We'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights as a base for visiting Northumberland. En-suite rooms and common areas were all clean and comfortable. Self catering kitchen and dining room were well equipped with plenty of space.

Room Tip: Light sleepers will prefer rooms at the back of the hostel; church bells across the street strike ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in this excellent hostel for a week in April 2014. All rooms are ensuite and we had a very comfortable and clean double room. The shower was wonderfully hot! Noise, which can be a problem in hostels, was ameliorated by the carpeted corridors. The hostel is well-equipped and the staff are friendly and helpful. Alnwick is a delightful town, well-located for exploring the many delights of Northumberland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit Alnwick Castle and Gardens and for our University field trip. The rooms were all clean and comfortable and great to have en-suite. The common areas were great also, with comfy sofas in the tv lounge and a nice big kitchen and dining area.
We paid for the meals also, which were all very good and tasty and great value for money. The hostel also sells alcohol saves having to go out and cat it back from the shops!
The location is right in town, walking distance to all the shops including supermarket and to both the Alnwick castle and gardens.
The staff were all frieldly and very accommodation. Overall I was very impressed with this hostel and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Brilliant location for the castle and gardens, the facilities are modern, clean, and wide ranging. The staff are warm and friendly ready to help with anything. The hostel is 2 minute walk from the high street winch has everything you can need.

Room Tip: We were in a en suite room 15 which was central to the building ideal for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed at Alnwick Youth Hostel for one night, in March 2014. Comfortable, clean and secure. After checking-in, access was available on an electronic key card that operated the front door as well as the room. We took a private room, with en-suite facilities and used the well-equipped self-catering kitchen. Alnwick itself is a very picturesque market town and a good place to see wider Northumberland from. Barter Bookshop, in the old railway station, is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alnwick Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Youth Hostel

Address: 34 - 38 Green Batt, Alnwick NE66 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alnwick Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the town's Court House, now a new independent town centre youth hostel, Alnwick Youth Hostel welcomes guests from all over the world. The spectacular Northumberland coastline is only a short drive away to the east, the National Park and Cheviot Hills to the west. Alnwick Castle (of Harry Potter fame), The Alnwick Gardens and the beautiful medieval town all within walking distance. With 15 bunk rooms, all en-suite, from two to six-bedded, including some ground floor bedrooms, Alnwick Youth Hostel offers both families and independent travellers all the comfort you would expect from a hostel in a great location. We offer a tasty buffet breakfast to set you up for the day (and can provide a full catered option for group bookings). The hostel also has a comfy lounge, bright and airy dining room, games room, courtyard with outdoor seating and a drying room. Cyclists have use of a secure bike store onsite. Our reception staff are on hand to offer tourist advice, sell you a locally brewed beer or two and can even recommend a good cafe for a decent cup of tea. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alnwick Youth Hostel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alnwick Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.