We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pub near the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Newton-By-The-Sea | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 3EA, England
(01665) 576 112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub near the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have recently enjoyed a lovely family meal at The Joiners Arms which is friendly and relaxed. The service was excellent considering it was a Saturday night and we booked at the last minute. The seafood sharing platter to start was lovely and enough for 3. The menu was varied and included all the tractional pub classics plus some more original dishes. We would particularly recommend the burger and the steak!!! The fish and chips looked good to on the table next door!!! Our only disappointment was that we were not on holiday long enough to go again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good afternoon,

I hope you are well.

Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to the Joiners Arms.

I'm so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal, and I must admit the burger is definitely one of my favourites as well!

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    101
    47
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't ask for the menu, just ask for Fish & Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Decent little boozer in a pleasant village. Locally brewed ales and other niche products as well as the usual. Simply and tastefully decorated. Staff very friendly and service is excellent. They also allow clean, well behaved dogs into the pub and were quite happy for our dog to sit under the table while we dined. Everything I saw coming out of the kitchen looked good, well presented and decent portions. Unfortunately, I have been twice now and I can't get past the signature Haddock & Chips; Massive well battered fresh haddock, good chips, proper mushy peas and homemade tartare sauce. They are as good as I have had anywhere and are highly recommended. The portion size means that they are not for the faint hearted or those on a diet! I would advise booking, it is, rightly, popular.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I hope you are well.

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. We value each and every one of our customer’s comments and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience here at our venue, and I must admit the fish and chips are definitely my favourite as well!

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

we were a party of 8 went for a last night of holiday meal.very tasty and the staff were very accommodating with the various culinary needs we had.(1 coeliac ,1 vegetarian).pricey but was worth it. ...............

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good afternoon Sue,

I hope you are well.

Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to the Joiners Arms.

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and stay, and we do look forward to hopefully welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simple gastro pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've eaten regularly at As You Like It over the years and hoped the Joiners Arms would be just as good.

The place itself if cosy, not as 'boutique-y' as AYLI but perhaps this is just right for a pub.

We came here for lunch after attending a wedding at Newton Hall (beautiful place, also had great food there) the day before. I ordered the fish and chips even after being warned it was a large portion. And it was huge! I couldn't finish it, but the chips were yummy, and the fish was nicely cooked.

I'd recommend it if you are in the area, and it's especially good if you're in a large group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to our venue The Joiners Arms. We value our customers comments as we aim to continually improve and provide the best experience each and every time.

I can see by your review that you are a loyal customer to many of our venues, and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at The Joiner’s Arms, the fish and chips is a favourite of many – including myself!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs Beaney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful overnight stay here.
Beautifully decorated boutique room. We really liked the roll top bath in the bedroom and the walk in shower in the bathroom.
Nice views, peaceful location. Perfect place to relax and get away from it all.
Another nice touch was the breakfast which we had in our room. It was a really nice breakfast with plenty to choose from on the menu.
Overall we loved it here and will definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Low Newton by the Sea, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joiners Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.