We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bow House to your Saves list
Bow House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49 St Michaels Lane, Alnwick NE66 1TU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked this great B & B at the end of October after ringing round all the other well rated B & B's without success and the 2 day weekend away could not have been better. The house is new and well located in Alnwick the rooms are spacious with everything well thought out and working. But best of all Bev and David were brilliant and made sure everyone enjoyed their stay, the breakfasts were the best quality cooked to perfection. We will be staying again If it is not fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
126
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Right from the very start when we were met by David with a lovely cup of tea after our long journey to Bow House to leaving after a lovely breakfast our stay was way beyond our expectations. Bow house is a well designed house with lovely decor throughout, I would suggest that it is the cleanest guest house I have stayed in. Bow house has a real homely feel and David & Beverly are lovely hosts. Only one problem ! I couldn't get out of the most comfortable bed I have slept in while being away from home. We had a lovely full english breakfast, cooked to perfection.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone, Many thanks David & Beverly.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and i had the pleasure of staying at Bow House for 2 nights while visiting Alnwick from Australia for the Castle, and the beautiful gardens. The room we stayed in was faultless, clean, comfortable, nice modern bathroom. Bev and David were the perfect hosts, and the breakfasts were scrumptious, especially Bev's french toast which i managed 2 days in a row! Would recommend highly, thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this excellent B&B, it appeared that nothing was too much effort in making our stay as comfortable as possible. With tea and cake on arrival, good sized bedrooms, an excellent breakfast and good local advice we couldn't fault it and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I have just had a lovely 2 night stay at Bow House and agree with previous reviewers that Bev and Dave are a nice couple who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We stayed in the Viscount room which was clean, well equipped and finished to a high standard. Breakfast was very good and their were lots of other little touches that set Bow House aside from many other b&bs. The only very minor issues were that there was no heating on the first night when it was a little cold and it is possibly slightly overpriced at £90, we've stayed in other excellent b&bs for £72 - £80. However, this wouldn't detract from our overall enjoyment and we'd definately stay again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My family and I stayed at Bow House recently while visiting Alnwick gardens. David and Bev could not have done any more for us and we thouroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay there. Especially touched by the fact that they acknowledged my Mums 80th Birthday with a card and bottle of wine. Would have no hesitation at all in recomending this B and B.

Room Tip: We used 2 rooms and both were very very clean and well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We chose Bow House as a base to explore the coast of Northumberland after reading the previous reviews on Trip Advisor and i can only say that every compliment about the accommodation and it's owners are 100% accurate.

The room was immaculate, stylish and above all comfortable, with a sofa, flat screen television/DVD & free wi-fi. David & Beverley made us really welcome & gave us plenty of tips on the best places to explore in the area. The breakfast was delicious & they were happy to adapt their menu to suit our varying appetites. The location within Alnwick is literally a 2 minute walk to the centre of town & at most only 5 minutes to the castle & gardens.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Bow House to anyone. Look no further !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow House

Address: 49 St Michaels Lane, Alnwick NE66 1TU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow House is a 4* "Gold Standard" Georgian style Guest House, which has recently been built with utmost care to sympathetically reflect this important area of the town.Situated in the unspoiled conservation area along the line of the old town wall it is only a short stroll into the town centre where you can find local shops and restaurants alongside attractions such as the museum, castle and gardensWe are located close to the centre of the historic market town of Alnwick with its ever popular Castle and Gardens. Alnwick is easily accessed by road, rail, air and sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.