We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing little hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birdsong Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birdsong Cottage B&B
Save
You added Birdsong Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Brownieside, Alnwick NE67 5HW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing little hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have three kids and very busy lives and just wanted a relaxing break but something special. On arrival we where greeted by three very friendly ducks walking up the drive, when we saw our room we where so happy because it is modern and cosy but with so many little special touches. We decided to go into Alnwick for a meal, I would advise drive to Alnwick because the taxi is expensive. We thought we would stay in Alnwick for a few drinks but our meal filled us up so we came back to the room to let our food settle. The restaurant called, Lilburn's does look like a café from outside but the food is very, very good. We took a bottle of champagne to our room and spent a great deal of time in and out of the hot tub. My favourite part of the stay was looking at a sky full of stars and seeing shooting stars. Gary the owner was very helpful and friendly and nothing was a problem. We requested breakfast to be at 9am and when it came it was a lovely bacon stottie, my only complaint which is minor is that we got less than half a glass of pure orange and it would have been nice to have a cup of tea. There are tea bags in the room but they are all flavoured, I will just take some with me the next time. I would strongly recommend you stay here but you will need to book well in advance xx Oh and very comfortable bed and very clean x

Room Tip: Room with the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
100
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are just home from a fantastic 2 night stay at birdsong. We stayed in Swallow's Rest which was a lovely, spacious room. The room was fully equipped with TV, lush coffee machine and a mini-fridge complete with Birdsong gin and Bacardi. There were lots of lovely treats left for us which made our stay feel even more luxurious.

Our private bathroom (just down the hall) was filled with bath treats and lotions to add to our relaxation. The jacuzzi bath is a must!

Amanda and Gary were fab hosts: there when we wanted info but left us totally to our own devices apart from the delivery of breakfast each morning (totally yummy!)

I would definitely recommend Birdsong and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just stayed with Amanda and Gary in Swallows Rest. Beautiful room, the private bathroom is to die for. The experience starts from the moment you stand inside. Caring and thoughtful people, every last touch of comfort you could want. Even down to the electric blanket to snuggle down in bed. I would highly recommend this place. Just don't go too many times or else there won't be room for us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and i stayed here for two nights, mainly because i was keen to enjoy a hot tub under the stars! Accordingly we stayed in 'The Haven', which has a private deck complete with fairy lights, Buddha statue and the tub. I loved little details, such as provision of plastic champagne flutes - and glass ones for when you weren't in the tub - love heart sweets hidden in a silver box and the surprise free minibar. The room was comfortable and clean, and everything you needed was provided. Breakfast was freshly squeezed orange juice, granola and yoghurt (delicious) and bacon stottie, served in the room, and we enjoyed every mouthful. The only down side, for me, was the all-singing coffee maker, which seemed to take ages to make a cuppa, and in fact, as i prefer tea, never really got hot enough to make a good one. I'd have preferred an old fashioned kettle! Oh, and the hot tub was fantastic :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We would both like to say a massive thank you to Amanda & Gary for our wonderful stay for our wedding!
Thank you both for always welcoming us into your beautiful home. You always make our stay perfect. The personal touches which you added to the room were absolutely beautiful - you are so very thoughtful! Thank you also for our beautiful gifts - they mean a lot to us & we will treasure them! Thank you Gary for driving us to the Treehouse for our lunch & Amanda you are an absolute star. You are both such beautiful people.
Hope you both are well,
Tim & Danielle xx

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night this week. Although it is like staying overnight in someone's house, we were left completely alone after being shown to the room until breakfast. We felt so welcomed that we could have stayed longer.

I usually take everything with me when I go away (much to the delight of my travelling companions) but I agree with other reviews that say you don't need to take anything at all!

The standard of the room was amazing, the hot tub was fantastic and the breakfast was great. Lots of little touches made us feel very special. Perfect for a quiet getaway.

You must book!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

As part of my birthday present my fiance booked the birdsong cottage for a night away. Situated just off the A1 off a little country lane this lovely little bed and breakfast sits. Before we even arrived we were impressed with Birdsong Cottage. We had sent an email to ask of anywhere to eat close by and Amanda had kindly offered to take us and pick us up! We didn't take her up on this but it was such a kind thing to do and for us goes way beyond their duty as B&B hosts. Then from the moment we arrived Gary greeted us and instantly made us feel welcome, just like other people have said in their reviews on here. It was a total surprise for me and when I walked through the door I was not disappointed.. the other half has earned some serious brownie points!! Gary showed us around the room; the beautiful wet room with big overhead shower and built in lights, the coffee machine, the complimentary mini bar, the hot tub and romantic lighting and the brand new posh telly (probably the other halfs favourite thing!!). We had champagne amd chocolates and inside a little tin heart we found some love heart sweets which we found was a lovely little touch. The next day Gary brought us our breakfast.. bacon stotties and little homemade yoghurt pots. We were greeted with a cheery good morning from Gary and also from Sidney the little Pug! The place is just lovely and I can not find a single fault. Definitely recommend this place, you'll not be disappointed. Thanks Gary and Amanda :) xx

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birdsong Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottage B&B

Address: Brownieside, Alnwick NE67 5HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdsong Cottage is an intimate retreat nestled in a quiet beauty spot conveniently off the A1. It is an ideal base for local exploration with, Craster, Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick Castle & Gardens & The Cheviots all being within easy reach. There are also good links to Newcastle & Edinburgh. Nearby facilities include Horse Riding, Golf, Fishing, Boat trips, Beautiful Beaches, even lessons in fly fishing! You are guaranteed a warm welcome & delicious breakfast, we believe in good old fashioned hospitality & spoiling our guests! We look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birdsong Cottage B&B Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdsong Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.