We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oronsay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oronsay House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Class B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent three nights at Oransay House in october,what a delight! A spotlessly clean establishment with fantastic food and service.
Charles and Christine were charming and attentive hosts, Thankyou both.
If you want a top place to stay, this is it.
David & Shelagh J.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
54
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a super place to stay in Alnwick. Easy walking distance to all there is to see and the off-street parking was very convenient. The accommodation was spotless and the suite was a lovely large size with an enormous, comfy bed. The bathroom was very large and was the only area that could have been improved; the shower had quite low water pressure and a better quality unit would have been more in keeping with the overall experience, also the bathroom floor was lino, but they were the only changes I would have made to the accommodation. The house is on a busy road, so you do get some road-noise, but it didn't affect the quality of our sleep. I guess the rooms on the back would be the quietest. The other measure of a good B&B is the breakfast and this was first-class. Would definitely recommend if Alnwick is your destination.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Where shall we start , driving into alnwick the b & b is on your right 100 yards past the war memorial and straight into the car park
What a super place , met by Charles who was very welcoming and showed us to our room
The room 1 was more than comfortable with everything you could wish for
The following morning we had a lovely breakfast which was very varied and filling and we stayed for two nights
Next mornings breakfast craster kippers (the tomatoes worked) were superb.
We had a wonderful time here and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Oronsay House is an excellent B&B with very welcoming hosts, Charles & Christine. This old house has been sympathetically restored and is exceedingly comfortable. The spotlessly clean rooms were comfortable and very well equipped and the breakfasts splendid. There was a wide choice of locally sourced, well cooked food and they even catered for my husband's gluten-free diet.
We ate at 2 of the recommended restaurants, both within walking distance of Oronsay House, and had excellent meals in both.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting somewhere to stay in Alnwick. You certainly get good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesCScott, Owner at Oronsay House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Barbara K,

Thank you for takiing the time to write a review about Oronsay House and of course for the kind words that you said in it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Alnwick and were able to sample a couple of the local restaurants. We are very lucky that there are so many good restaurants with walking distance and of course the John Bull with its range of 149 malt whiskies!

Hopefully you had a pleasant onward journey to Girvan and enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Best regards,

Charles and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Charles made us feel very welcome and the room was light, airy and spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Christine's breakfasts were excellent. Plenty of choice, beautifully cooked and always arrived piping hot. They were both excellent hosts and provided comprehensive information (verbally and in the room booklet) on local amenities and places to eat. Highly recommended. We'll definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesCScott, Owner at Oronsay House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear June W,
Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words. Christine and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a pleasant homeward journey and also that we will see you again.
Best regards, Charlie and Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Oronsay House is a lovely B&B and both Charles and Christine were very welcoming and the breakfast made by Christine was fantastic, just what I needed after attending a wedding at Doxford Hall the previous evening. My room (5) along with the rest of the house was spotlessly clean, and the bed very comfortable. The room was excellent value for money and if I ever need accommodation in Alnwick again I would definitely stay here again. I would also happily recommend this to anyone else looking to stay in this part of Northumberland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesCScott, Owner at Oronsay House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Oronsay House and, of course, for the complimentary things you said. With everything that you had going on that weekend we appreciate your comments even more. All the very best, we do hope to see you again.
Best regards, Charlie and Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent in every respect! From being greeted on the doorstep and having help with our bags, to the moment we left, Oronsay House surpassed our expectations. Charles and Christine were marvellous hosts and have put a lot of work into creating a wonderful high quality B&B. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesCScott, Owner at Oronsay House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We really do appreciate it, especially as your stay with us was so short.
We do look forward to seeing you again perhaps for a longer stay this time - there is such a lot to see and do in this relatively undiscovered part of the country.

Best regards,
Charlie and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oronsay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oronsay House

Address: 18 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oronsay House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1880, Oronsay House exhibits many period features and is set in a conservation area just 175 yards from the Hotspur (or Bondgate) Tower and the town centre. We have a private car park for our guests. All rooms have en-suite facilities, TV with CD/DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free Wi-Fi internet access. The owners, Charles and Christine Scott, are committed to making your stay in Alnwick as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oronsay House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oronsay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oronsay House to your Saves list