We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word .... Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art House

The Art House
14 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
+44 1665 602607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: American, British, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One word .... Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went today for the first time and had an amazing! Meal I had the chicken BLT burger and all I can say is bring your appetite! Huge portions but really really fresh ingredients absolutely delicious a real find in alnwick.
Only downside the service isn't great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    102
    36
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A shambles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 2040, ordered at 2050 and waited. And waited. The starters arrived at 2120, an average soup and a small portion of squid. Then the long wait started. We asked when we might expect food at 2155 and told it was just coming. At 2210 we paid for the starters and left.

I had originally ordered burger but was told it could take 25 minutes so had changed to fish and chips; that only added to the frustration.

Service was well meaning but pathetic, everybody perfectly pleasant but we were left alone throughout and got the impression that such waits were to be expected. If anyone was in charge, it was not apparent.

In short, a real disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Been several times & never had a complaint to make. The western platter is fantastic, not to mention the huge fish & chips. I've mostly been at lunchtimes, but visited for dinner a couple of times, and the menu is great. Big wide range to chose from!

Will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Came in at five to 9 on a thursday night and was still happily seated. Food was very good, portion were very generous and the service was outstanding. I eat here regularly and always leave full and happy. Especially when i catch the Happy Hour on cocktails.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a great little find! Excellent food, service and atmosphere. The menu's variety will suit everyone. Best meal in Alnwick ever!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Art House also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Art House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.