We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art House

The Art House
14 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
+44 1665 602607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $47
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
manchester england
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we were in alnwick for a few days with friends me an hubby have been here before and enjoyed it, but our friends have never been before and they are regular visiitors to alnwick and they enjoyed and they will return

the menu as plenty of choice for every one the staff i very friendly and welcoming

the one tiny negative would be the house white wine was not my favourite

i would suggest you book at the week-end as when we went in mid march it was full

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    110
    42
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and GREAT value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went on a whim with some friends on a Saturday night. I was advised to book a table, which I did and it was good as there's only 10, maybe 15 tables tops.
The place is lovely, with art lining the walls on the way in and art inside too.
The menu really worked for me, with maybe 20 main courses to choose from, mainly seasonal if not all seasonal.
It was fancy food without being too fancy.
I really enjoyed my meal, the main pan fried sea bass with pont neuf potatoes was lovely, the wine was good too.
The only two things that were a let down to me, was the drinks menu and the staff were not very attentive, but they were friendly and the wine I had was nice.
I would still go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed a superb Sunday roast today at The Art House! Two courses for £10 and all delicious and the usual excellent service! Thank you Art House.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEATH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

visited Alnwick for a weeks holiday & due to the superb quality of the food & the friendly staff chose to eat here 3 times & with so many restauranys/pubs in & around Alnwick I think that says it all really!! Don't change you are excellant,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

4 of us had soup and sandwich deal here. £4.95 for soup, sandwich and a drink is unbeatable value. Soup was sweet potato and squash and was absolutely superb! All of our sandwiches were deeply filled on fresh bread. Fantastic place and wonderful service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Art House also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Art House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.