We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing is the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Plough to your Saves list
The Plough
24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
West Yorks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best thing is the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after booking here very late on a whim.
We had room 5 in the main building which is a nice double room. The artwork on the wall needed a good dust though. Bed was very comfy but the pillows were rubbish.
Beware the scary toilet which makes very loud strange noises when flushed & at other random intervals - it made us both jump out of our skin every time!
Large flat screen tv is good but you have to go through a channel search every time it's turned on which gets a bit annoying.
Dressing table is in a dark corner which is no good for doing your make up.
Breakfast isn't bad but being served only until 9.30am & check out by 10am makes the mornings rushed.
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night it was a very pleasant meal however, I ordered off the specials board & was told the meal came with veg so I ordered some chips to go with it. When my meal arrived it actually came with veg & mash so I'd ordered the chips for no reason. Also it's worth noting that no food is served beyond 6pm on a Sunday, even for those staying at the hotel.
Plus points are free parking & great location a very short stroll to the castle & gardens & into the centre of the town. Also very close to the famous Barter Books.
Staff were all nice & polite.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    21
    19
    16
See reviews for
17
69
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights 21st Feb 2013 as we were offered the second night half price. We got a family room which had a HUGE double and a single for my daughter, big fluffy towels, red hot power shower and a beautiful building to boot. We stayed in the Annex next to The Plough and ate there both nights. Centrally located in town yet quiet at night. Will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Annex of the Plough with my girlfriend. Such a nice place. We chose it because it was the nearest hotel to Alnwick Gardens, it took around 5 min to walk. Nice staff and good food served in the Plough. Already booked again for September.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great! Stayed here over the course of last week as part business trip and seeing family. I could not have stayed in a nicer place. The staff were so friendly and helpful and my room was very pleasant with a very comfy bed. I had a room facing the road and was worried about previous peoples comments but I had no need to be. The town centre location also made it easy to walk to local shops/restaurants and Barter Books which is the best/largest 2nd hand book shop I have ever had the pleasure of perusing.

Room Tip: Room 4 did it for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were early diners at 6:00 pm so did not expect much ambiance on a quiet evening and assumed the upstairs restaurant would be quite ordinary. We were pleasantly surprised to join a number of other diners in a a lovely, stylish room. The large full wall mirror doubled the apparent size of the restaurant and nicely reflected the glassware on the laid tables. A bottle display on the other wall added a contemporary, classy look to the restaurant.

Importantly the meals too were imaginative, well prepared and presented. We both had meals from the specials and were in no way disappointed enjoying reasonable portions, sufficient we couldn't manage pud. The waitresses were friendly, attentive and the service was fine.

Tables were set for 3 large parties later that evening, their tables set out with plenty of space around them.

Alnwick is a lovely market town to visit at any time of the year so we will be back and if there in an evening will head to the Plough. The Plough is very well located next to Alnwick Playhouse for a pre- show meal and has some rear parking if you don't miss the narrow entrance.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our party of 6 people had dinner. We chose from a set menu and had 2 courses costing £11.95. Everyone had turkey except one who had roast beef. I had turkey and trimmings. Everything about the food was beautiful, delicious flavours and quality produce. The gravy was gorgeous. Vegetables were served separate and were fresh. The turkey, stuffing, sausages and potatoes were lovely. I had Xmas pudding it was exquisite, a little work of art and was full of flavour. The atmosphe. Was relaxed and the decor / surroundings modern and smart. All in all I could not fault this in any way, lovely place, quality food and at a bargain price. We had a lovely family Christmas meal and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I ate here the other night and were very disappointed with our meal. We were tempted inside by a board outside advertising their great value "STEAK NIGHT". Oh dear, we should have known better. There's no point beating about the bush here,- the steak was tough and tasteless, and was accompanied by a free glass of rose wine that was so awful that we both had to leave it untouched (definitely a first!). Please don't be seduced by the pretty young waitresses and trendy decor on offer here,- The Plough is just not up to scratch I'm afraid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: 24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore`s Of Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Blackmores Hotel Alnwick
The Plough Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.