We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a B&B instead.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Plough to your Saves list
The Plough
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay in a B&B instead.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've been to Alnwick many times and always stayed in the same wonderful place, Greycroft B&B, but I wanted to try something different this time. SoI settled for one of the two largest hotels in the town, Blackmore's. I was disappointed right away since they lost my reservation and didn't have any internet (even thought their website said otherwise) so that I could get my email confirmation off my phone. They did get me a room anyway since there was only one other person staying the night, they had plenty. The room was odd, cold, a very high bed for no reason, and unclean. The wood trimmings looked dirty and full of grime. The bathroom was just as cold and unkempt. Very sparse and unwelcoming. I am having my wedding in Alnwick and will make sure my guests steer clear from here and stay in B&B's instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    23
    21
    17
See reviews for
17
77
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Went for a meal on a friday night and it was completely empty and this was 8 o clock.
I had a venison starter and whilst the venison seemed fine the leaves that were served with it were bordering on dead, my partner had twice baked soufle which was more like a pancake. For mains I had tenderloin of pork wrapped in parma ham which was dry and tough, my partner had chicken in breadcrumbs which she described as tasteless. There was no music playing and me and my partner felt like we had to be quiet because it was that empty and didnt want the waiters to be listening in on our conversation. All this for £53. Worst meal I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having recently spent the night here i found myself thinking if i had ever stayed in a worse place in my life, and the answer is NO. The rooms are no where near what they look like on the website and i agree with all the other negative comments about the bathrooms, they smell disgusting from the saniflo systems they have in place i cant understand why they keep the sytems in place when the rooms smell so bad of foul waste. When i mentioned this to one of the staff in the bar they just shrugged there shoulders and didn't seem to care about my complaint. Whilst at thebar i tried one of the real ales which i returned immediately as it tasted disgusting i opted for what i thought was a safe option of lager which i have to say was only just drinkable and felt sick afterwards. This put me off having my evening meal there and found a little italians just down the road and the food there was beautiful. At breakfast i was releaved i did go to the italians as my fears were confirmed when the full english breakfast was slammed down in front of me by the waitress, it was tasteless and rubbery and i could tell everything had been pre cooked days earlier and reheated in a microwave. After complaining about my whole stay on departure there was again a shrug of the shoulders by the member of staff and my bill was put in front of me with no chance of a discount.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

very good hotel in Alnwick
excellant dining and very friendly bar
Owner is very knowledgeable about local trips, history

Room Tip: Very friendly service , local area is steeped in history beautiful countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I visited the completely refurbished location that was the old Plough Inn situated in Bondgate Without in Alnwick. What was an old somewhat run-down pub has been transformed into a brand new hotel, restaurant, bar and function suite. Any resemblance to the former occupants of this site are strictly non-existant!
We partook of lunch on a Saturday at about 1 pm. We were among but a half dozen other guests that day and were served by two young ladies who seemed to double their duties by attending the hotel reception and taking/serving lunch orders.The lunch menu is quite extensive and appears to be "cooked to order" which means that one has to be patient before ones meal is on the table. However the wait is justified as the meals are quite excellent and the service good. Meal prices are good value too but alcohol somewhat pricey - John Smith bitter £3 a pint (!) and the cheapest wine £14 - London prices nearly rather than usual local costs. Tea and coffee are however reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Brand new accommodation as per hotel brochure but not visited on this occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My Wife and I love going for the occasional day trip and Alnwick is one of our favourite towns to visit. This is the first time we have tried Blackmore's and what a pleasant surprise it was. The bar and restaurant are very close to each other in very pleasant surroundings. Unusual to have such a relaxed atmosphere. The staff were without exception very attentive and the food was well presented and very tasty. Blackmore's is situated in the centre of town not far from parking facilities and is well worth a visit. We will be back !

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I first read about this hotel in September and booked a two night break (31 Dec to 2 Jan) for family and friends, but later was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews. However we have had a very memorable stay over the new year's weekend.

We had rooms 2, 3, 4 & 5 and all of us were very impressed with the cleanliness and style of the rooms. I was staying in Room 2 but never noticed any unpleasant smells from the bathroom!! When the loo was flushed there was a bit of noise, but this didn't bother us at all. The staff did say they were experiencing problems with the Saniflow system, so we were aware.

The rooms were very spacious, warm and comfortable, there was always plenty hot water and the beds had mattress toppers, which made for a comfortable night's sleep.

We didn't have a problem with noise from the street - our room was over the main entrance and even though it was New Year's Eve, we were not disturbed.

With regard to food, we had the New Year's Eve dinner of 5 courses + coffee which was exceptional and very efficiently served. We also had dinner the following night and none of us had any complaints about our meal. Breakfasts were lovely, with plenty of choice, whether you wanted full English, kippers, smoked salmon or continental style.

It is a beautifully furnished hotel, very modern furnishings and the restaurant on New Year's eve was stunning (all black & gold).

However, I've left the best bit until last - the staff are what made our stay so memorable. They were absolutely brilliant each and everyone. We couldn't fault our stay at the hotel and have in fact just booked up again for next New Year's Eve!!

We have been enjoying New Year's breaks for more than 20 years and can say in all honesty this has been our best experience yet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: 24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore`s Of Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Blackmores Hotel Alnwick
The Plough Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.