We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break with Mum and Dad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aln House
Save
You added Aln House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Break with Mum and Dad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at the end of August, we were made very welcome and stayed in two very comfortable, clean rooms with lovely toiletries, soft towels and biscuits!
Lots of lovely touches including fresh flowers in reception rooms, local information and maps, magazines etc. Bill and Jean were excellent hosts and helpful when discussing and booking one of our evening meals.
Our room and shower room on the top floor were a little smaller than expected and due to the hot weather was on the warm side, the fans were a must!
The breakfasts were superb, excellent presentation and quality food sourced locally where possible too.

Room Tip: Perhaps a first floor room would be cooler in Summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
221
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay at Aln House earlier this month. After a long drive, it was a little difficult to find, but when we got there the the welcome was amazing. After checking in, we were offered tea and biscuits, and advice with typical menus for the restaurants.in Alnwick that evening. Lovely room on the top floor with great views. Everything we could have asked for.
The breakfast menu was shown to us the night before, so we could make our choices including the time we wanted it. The choice of cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit salad was wonderful, including gluten free ,and the standard of cooking and presentation was immaculate. Far better than many 5 star hotels, with the added personal touch. A really fantastic place to stay. Could not have been better.

Room Tip: Book early for the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Aln House. Pleasant decorated en suite bedrooms with all amenities, fluffy towels, robes and lots of nice touches in the wardrobe: hairdryer, fans etc. Parking for guests off road, garden front and back with places to sit. A guest lounge with magazines, books, dvds. The breakfast was great, with lots of choices cooked to order and a splendid array of fruits including plums in amaretto, and seasonal fruits. Our only regret is the room that we selected, although a lovely room, being 6ft 4 it was difficult to use a shower cubicle in the attic roof space and wished we had selected a room on the first floor and not the attic. The price was more than we would normally pay for a bed and breakfast but you get what you pay for here. Great service, friendly welcome and a relaxing time. We were able to walk into town in about 5 - 10 minutes and be at the castle entrance in 10-15 minutes. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5.6 and 7 are in the attic. Room 5 has a separate toilet to shower and the bathroom is small wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've just got back from two nights at Aln House for our honeymoon, and it was fabulous. We stayed in Room 3, which was well worth the few extra pounds for the space and the bath. The place is really nicely decorated, and the room was spacious, spotless and light. The guest lounge, although we didn't use it much, is a really nice thing to have as a place to sit and relax other than your room. And they have a good selection of games, books, and DVDs to play or borrow which was great.

Jean and Bill were great hosts. When we arrived, Jean made us a cup of tea in the guest lounge with some lovely biscuits - a really nice touch that you don't get in a lot of places (who wants to have to put the kettle on after a long drive!)

The breakfast was lovely, and very nicely presented. And the wine and ice bucket and card in our room congratulating us a lovely touch!

Would definitely recommend to friends and family, and if we are in Alnwick again I think we'll come back here.

Room Tip: Can only comment on room 3 (the one with the bath) - the extra was worth the luxury of having the sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I endorse the previous comments. Aln House is spotless and stylish, but also extremely comfortable, with great attention to detail. The choice on the breakfast menu and the cooking were excellent. It is also in an ideal location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having stayed in some very fine B&B's across the country, this was one of the most expensive that we have booked, so the anticipation was extremely high for our first visit to Aln House. We were not disappointed. What we read and what you will continue to read is that the house is immaculate, the breakfast excellent, the location ideal, the attention to detail faultless, but more over the welcome and warmth of Jean and Bill is genuine. They are truly a remarkable couple who run a truly remarkable B&B. If size is a important we booked room 3. It is a wonderful room, light and airy with windows on two sides, the bathroom is not your average ensuite, it is large and the bath a welcome change. Pay a little more and stay here. You will not be disappointed with any part of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights, this is an excellent B&B. As others have said, it is spotlessly clean, there is great attention to detail, the breakfasts are delicious, and the owners and extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aln House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.