We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aln House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another lovely weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at Aln House for the third time last weekend. Bill and Jean, the owners, were away on holiday for the first night of our stay but the couple who ran the place whilst they were away did a sterling job. Everything from the bedding to the breakfast is top quality. I travelled this time with my Mum, who is not easy to impress but she thoroughly enjoyed her stay. A lovely house and a warm welcome.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 at the top of the house. Quiet with a large shower room and views over gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
194
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We selected this for a four-night stay purely because of its Trip Advisor rating, and once again we were not disappointed. A warm and friendly house with small but immaculately furnished, furbished and spotlessly clean rooms. The bedroom has everything you need, with particularly comfortable beds. The sitting room was light and with very comfortable armchairs and settees and a good "log" fire. We arrived when the owners were away but would never have known had they not told us. Jean and Bill's return for our final two nights added to the experience and Jean's offer to book restaurant and taxi was much appreciated. Breakfast is ordered the night before and served hot and very well cooked, with fresh fruit berries and yoghurt also available. Just a short walk from the town, the castle, Barter Books and restaurants, this is the perfect setting for Amble, Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am one of three men(Grumpies) who have just spent 2 nights at Aln House Alnwick. Jean and Bill the owners were truly wonderful. Their B & B had everything you would expect and then some more. The bedrooms were as good as any top Hotel. Breakfasts were superb and the whole building was spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and whilst we got the last room left when booking it still came up trumps. Jean & Bill were excellent hosts, both generous and welcoming. We stayed in room no 7. This was at the very top of the house and had twin beds. Despite being full there was plenty of space for everyone. Breakfast consisted of locally sourced products and tasted delicious. It set us up well for a full days walking in the Hulne Gardens nearby. Well worth a visit and don't miss out on the ruined Abbey, you can actually get into the walled ruins and have a good look around.
This was a good base for visiting Alnwick and the surrounding area. You could easily walk into the town centre from here so you could enjoy that bottle of wine when dining out! Whilst we enjoyed the Tree House restaurant, as the reviews say, it was expensive, whereas the Art House restaurant was half the price and you got twice as much, definitely worth a visit. But remember to book first, there were a lot of disappointed customers who were turned away because they were full.
This was our fourth visit to Alnwick and we will definitely be coming back and staying here again if we can get in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay! It's within walking distance of the town and its attractions and the accommodation is top rate. Our room was spacious, light and airy with a big bathroom. There were lots of added extras including bathrobes, good toiletries, complementary sherry, chocolates, tea/coffee making facilities etc. The guests' lounge was nicely decorated and there was plenty of information for tourists, also Wifi throughout the house. The breakfasts offered lots of choice for all sorts of diet preferences; cooked breakfasts were superb. Jean and Bill were warm hosts and very helpful, able to recommend eating places etc. Best B&B we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of cousins stayed in of the 4 rooms for at least 3 nights recently. Jean & Bill treated us almost as family from the beginning, and made us feel so welcome: we hardly wanted to leave! Our room was not only comfortable and clean, but was tastefully decorated, with lots of little thoughtful extras to welcome us. The electric shower was so easy to use, a real plus as one gets older! The sitting room was a lovely place to gather and chat, in-between our outings, and some of us sat in the beautiful garden on our last afternoon. Breakfasts were a special treat: plum and amaretto compote appeared one morning; and each dish was attractively presented. Alnwick itself was a great place for a short break, with lots to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-west uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really lovely room, beautifully decorated with everything you could need thought of. Delicious breakfast (kippers one day, perfect poached eggs the next). Just a short walk into town and enough parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aln House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aln House to your Saves list