We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aln House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we visited, it was being looked after by friends as the owners were away, but the welcome and the service was second to none. (It was actually in September 2011, but couldn't choose the option for this.) Each room was of a different character (we were shown one which was being cleaned). The breakfast was excellent, the bed was comfortable. And a very personal service. Would highly recommend this B&B if you need somewhere to stay in the Alnwick area. :)

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
194
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned after a three night anniverary break at Aln House. This was our third visit and the standard as always is superb. The whole premises are spotless from the public rooms to the bedrooms. The bedroom was large comfortable and had all the extras that you would expect and more. Breakfast time is a delight, a substantial cooked breakfast is available and also a large choice of fruit and cereals for those with a lesser appetite. Thank you very much Jean and Bill for a wonderful stay, we intend to be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpeness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Friends recommended Aln House to us and we are so glad they did. We stayed for five nights, and had our every need attended to, from a comfortable and spotless room with many extras like a glass of sherry, to delicious breakfasts individually cooked and an excellent choice of differing fruit salads. Jean and Bill were welcoming, and helpful throughout our stay which frankly was faultless.

Room Tip: Our experience is based on the twin room at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from our third stay at Bill and Jean's lovely house. As everyone else has mentioned below, it is spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and very convenient for the town's restaurants etc. and surrounding countryside and coast. You could not be made more welcome by Bill and Jean and nothing is too much trouble. If you want to stay in this area make sure you don't stay anywhere else. This will definitely not be our last visit.

Bill will even cook any combination of the lovely breakfasts offered, i.e. I asked for kippers and black pudding - no problem.!!

Thank you for another wonderful stay - Bob & Sharen Murray

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

WOW this Guest House is simply the best. From the moment we arrived we felt really welcome. Our room was lovely and I dont think anyone could ever fault it. Small touches really made it feel like a home from home, in fact even better than home. Pure white towels and bed linen, even bathrobes which you don't even get in 4* hotels. Everywhere was spotlessly clean without feeling steril. Hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, good quality biscuits and hey even a small decanter of sherry. Everything worked perfectly, the shower was hot and powerful, this sadly isn't always the case in guest houses or hotels come to that.
Breakfast menu was varied served in a lovely breakfast room, on tables with white linen cloths. Fruit, yogurt and cereals to start, oh and if the plum compote is available you just have to try it.I had the full Northumberland and on the second morning scrambled egg and smoked salmon, really nice quality ingredients.

This was outr first visit to Northumberland and we loved it. Will definately be going back again and will stay at Aln House for sure. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked in for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I cannot praise this B&B highly enough. I stayed for five days and it was a wrench leaving. Everything was of the highest quality and style. I can think of nothing more that Jean and Bill could do to improve on this truly lovely place and the service they offer. Breakfast could be a feast if one chose to indulge, the quality of the locally sourced produce was outstanding and the cooking of it great. I would consider nowhere else to stay when re-visiting north Nothumberlad. A toast to the host and hostess. Thank you both. Jill Bourne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our first stay at Aln House but it won't be the last. It is excellent in every way and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Our bedroom and all the public rooms are immaculate, beautifully furnished and really clean. There is a good choice at breakfast and the food is of good quality, well cooked and nicely presented. Jean and Bill are really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 3 is conveniently located on the first floor with dual aspect to front and side. A lovely brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aln House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aln House to your Saves list