We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Acre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Acre House
Save
You added West Acre House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Welcoming and friendly hosts, beautiful house and garden. Luxurious room with those little extra touches..... a decanter of sherry, fruit ,toiletries. Would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
320
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Extra special B&B just 10 to 15 minutes walk outside Alnwick. It will be rare that you find a B&B of this quality. Jeanette and Bruce take honest care and attention. A most peacefull and quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I booked a two night birthday treat for my wife as a result of reading the reviews here and I wasn't dissappointed. Everything you read here is true! Fabulous friendly hosts who made our stay even better. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Beautiful house in a stunning location with views of open countryside. A warm welcome by Bruce & Jeannette set the scene for a lovely 4 night stay, nothing was too much trouble from crystal glasses for our wine to in depth information on local attractions. Our room was of a very high standard with everything you could need for your stay. Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at this excellent Guest House and would highly recommend it. Bruce and Jeanette make you feel incredibly welcome and provide for your every need.Great location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We were met on arrival by Bruce and Jeannette with a pot of tea and home-made cake and shortbread in the conservatory. By the time we were shown up to our room our bags had mysteriously found their way there first. Lovely large room, beautiful decor, well-appointed. The breakfasts were delicious, my grilled sausage tasted wonderful and my husband was thrilled with the locally smoked kippers. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This place is so wonderful that I am tempted to write nothing and keep it all to myself but, in fairness, sharing my views about West Acre House is the right thing to do! My husband and I have stayed with Bruce and Jeanette four times in the past two years whilst researching and realising our retirement plans and every time has been as good as the others. We have slept in two of the four bedrooms on offer and both are exquisite, immaculate, comfortable and offer those extra touches that epitomise Bruce and Jeanette's thoughtful hospitality. I have no doubt that the other two rooms that we haven't stayed in are just the same. Breakfast is the stuff of fantasies. Afternoon and evening tea trays in the garden room are always on offer as is advice and information about local facilities. They have booked restaurant tables on our behalf and even rustled up information about local house prices. They have returned to my home address forgotten items left in a chest of drawers before I had realised they were missing. They had the good grace not to look horrified when we announced we might be neighbours! I recommend West Acre House and the hosts, Bruce and Jeanette, unreservedly. Jane N

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Acre House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.