We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Acre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Acre House
Save
You added West Acre House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've been here twice before and returned with friends. We all had a wonderful time. It's the little extra's that make the difference like the small decanter of Sherry in your room and being greeted upon return after a day out with Tea and home made scones. The rooms are large, very well furnished and with the benefit of good sized bathrooms. Everything about this house says "quality". Bruce and Jeannette run a really good house and we've not found any other B&B that matches what they provide here. Well done, see you again some time. "H"

Room Tip: Don't worry, they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Aitch and Em it was good to see you again with A&J, thanks for recommending us to your friends and for the great review, it really is appreciated.

Best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
321
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baz66
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at West Acre House 3 years ago when Bruce and Jeanette gave us a warm welcome. We returned last week, this time with some friends, and we had another lovely time. They both made us very welcome with tea and coffee, and home made cake, and then sorted out taxis for our evenings out. The accommodation is superb - the house, the gardens, the bedrooms, and the guest areas. Breakfast really set us up for each day and we were sorry that we had to continue on our travels after a couple of nights as we could quite easily have stayed a wee bit longer. But we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear B&J + K&B, it was great to see you again and thank you for bringing K&B along this time. Doesn't seem like three years! We had some good laughs and enjoyed your humour.
Thank you for your kind words and lovely review.
Hope we see you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in August 2012 and from the moment we arrived were made very welcome. The house and gardens are beautiful and impeccably kept, our room was extremely well presented and very spacious, as was the en-suite bathroom. Lovely little touches throughout makes guests feel special, the rooms have everything you could need and the owners, Bruce and Jeanette, are so friendly and helpful and the breakfast is excellent too. A perfect location for visiting Alnwick, a short walk to town or the castle makes it the perfect place to stay. We would reccomend West Acre House to anyone wishing to stay in a first class B+B and we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental Room which had a great view over the garden and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear R & J, (pleased we got the names sorted out at last!) it was great to meet you both at West Acre House and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay as this is really important to us. Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated.

Best wishes to you both

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 Nights in September. Bruce and Jeanette were the perfect hosts friendly welcoming and well informed. Choice of breakfast set you up for the day. West Acre house is a beautiful home and perfect B & B definitely five star plus.

Room Tip: The Parisian room was home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear R & A, thank you for your review, your kind words are very much appreciated. We hope this trip has whet your appetite for Northumberland and we see you both in the not too distant future.
Our best wishes to you both!

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motueka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2012. This is a beautiful really well decorated and preserved house in lovely well tended grounds located in a quiet but very convenient residential area on the outskirts of town. Our room was large, impeccably furnished and welcoming with the added bonus of a large walk in wardrobe/dressing room. There were many added touches - cookies, sweets toiletries etc. Breakfasts ( and the one evening meal we had ) were delicious. The large conservatory to the side of the house is available for guests to use at all times and is very comfortable and relaxing. Above all our hosts were so welcoming and helpful - and really knowlegable giving us lots of useful tips on places to go and restaurants. Very aspect of West Acre House is 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear R & J, thank you for your kind words which are much appreciated you also came at a time when we had 'regular guests' in house so the ambience is always that bit special and you were all getting on so well. We received a letter from Wilf and Maureen today regarding their stay and they mentioned you both and were pleased to meet you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you both again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent 2 nights in this superbly preserved period house. Lives up to its previous reviews . Rooms are individually decorated and spacious with high quality finishes but it is all the little extra touches that gives it its five star class. The breakfast choices are varied , superbly cooked and presented. However it is the genuine warmth of welcome exhibited by Bruce and Jeanette that really make it a worthwhile venue for anyone visting the town and surrounding area. Parking is easy and the house is within walking distance to Alnwick centre. Would recommend that anyone visiting the area stays here you will not be disappointed I wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Scot Tourists, thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated. Hope you both enjoy the Guest House in Brittany that we mentioned if you are down that way!

Best Regards

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here in August for a long weekend, on arrival we were met with a wonderful welcome which made you feel at home, tea was serve in a excellent conservatory which was available for us to use during our stay. Going up the stairs to our room which overlooked the garden you could see that the house was beautifully decorated. Our room was large and very homely, the whole house is furnished to a very high standard, After a very good nights sleep it was down to breakfast which was wonderful.. As the B & B is only a 10 min. walk into Alnwick is was perfect for leaving your car parked and walking into town, The whole area is worth looking around and yes we will be back to stay with Bruce and Jeannette

Room Tip: A Room over looking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear SJW thank you for your wonderful review it is very much appreciated. We love to decorate the house and will be making some changes for next year which we hope you will enjoy if you return. Work begins November!
Thanks again
Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Acre House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.