We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of England Hotel

Heart of England Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heart of England Hotel to your Saves list
Heart of England Hotel
High Street, Weedon NN7 4QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms with friendly personal service.
Fantastic food, with great table service. Fantastic menu plus a wide range of specials.
The rooms are very clean and clearly well looked after.

Stay here whenever I'm in Northampton although its very busy these days and sometimes hard to get a room.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Rook_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Heart of England Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Sara,

Thanks for you review, great to see your review, hope your new business is going well :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
39
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As part of Marstons inns the Pedigree beer was very good, the food however was disappointing and i could find nothing on the menu that was freshly cooked, also the eating/bar area was very basic and lacked any comfort or atmosphere not even a TV to watch the football .The breakfast however was excellent benefiting from FRESH cooking!
The staff were helpful but you could see it was being run on a shoestring and it is clear that Marstons need to spend some money on it .
The bedroom was average ,shower was powerful. I agree with previous reviewer dont expect anything exciting !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent two nights here, meeting up with 10 others for a reunion. The rooms are clean, ours was very hot though.
The food is typical pub fare, but good value for money. Breakfast was excellent and included in the room price. The pictures of the hotel suggest it is in pleasant country location, it isn't.
The hotel was ideal for what we wanted, but do not go to Weedon expecting anything exciting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just spent one night here on Sunday 3rd March. The room was well appointed with
everything you need, coffee, tea, flat screen television etc. The room and the ensuite where
both very clean.

The breakfasts were also of a very high standard, I had the "Full English" which was
excellent and set me up for the day, in fact I couldn't eat it all, 2 fried eggs, heaven!!. BUT .. I
did have a meal in the restaurant on the Sunday evening which was extremely disappointing.
I had stuffed chicken breast with a mushroom sauce which was served with seasonal
vegetables. The chicken seemed to be "boil in the bag" if it wasn't it was a pretty good
imitation, and the vegetables, new boiled potatoes were dry and had a strange "cardboardy"
taste, carrots and peas, all I guess had been "hanging around" for a long time.

I think the evening chef could do with a few tips from whoever cooks the breakfasts.

So in essence well worth staying but avoid the evening meal and eat out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly, my wife and me paid just £43 for a twin room on Saturday 2nd March which at that price was a bargain. Factor in two breakfasts the following morning [normal price around £8 each] then the cost of the room comes down to just £27 which I doubt could be beated by any hotel. So in terms of value for money the accommodation was great!

The reason why I have chosen not to award 5 stars is down to a rather poor evening meal. I opted for the double burger which came with a choice of three toppings and one sauce. I chose bacon, fried onions and muchrooms and asked for gravy [instead of a sauce] as I was having mash. Unfortunately the food when it arrived did not match my expectations.

I was hoping to see two 'proper' beefburgers but instead received two re-constituted 'processed' burgers i.e. not made with normal beef mince. Add to that one mushroom and the equivalent of a teaspoonful of fried onions and you will see that the meal was not exactly mouthwatering. I appreciate that with the offer of two main meals for the price of one, it looks value for money but it's not when the meal is poor and not very appetising.

By comparison, the breakfast was much better and extremely satisfying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights after a visit it Warwick races. Chose hotel for location and based on previous stays at Marston pubs. Room on the top floor. Really nice and clean room, spacious enough, very warm. The bathroom, however, was freezing!! Not sure what could be done to change this but it was quite off putting. That said, I wouldn't let it stop me recommending this pub. At £35 per night, with the most delicious full English thrown in, it was well worth it. Good location for Banbury, Warwick Stratford etc without being over the top price wise. You get 20% of your food if you eat in the 241 pub too - bargain. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
573 helpful votes 573 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

What more do you want .... B&B £35 with free drinks voucher 241 steak and 20% off. Excellent value with excellent service to match. Stayed in other marstons inns and there a good find to use as a base to explore. Brilliant hotel brilliant staff. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of England Hotel

Address: High Street, Weedon NN7 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Weedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heart of England is a converted 18th Century Farmhouse which now operates as a Pub/ Restaurant and 13 bedroom hotel. The rooms have been fully refurbished to a high standard under the Marston’s Inns brand in Spring 2008 and offer guests free wi-fi, luxurious bedding, flatscreen digital TVs and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer all our guests a complimentary breakfast from our continental buffet and range of cooked option.The hotel is ideally located just a couple of miles from the M1 and 6 miles from Northampton. It also offers easy access to Milton Keynes and Coventry, being situated between the two and can easily reach the A5, A45 and M40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heart of England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of England Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.