We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break 4 days 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street, Thrapston NN14 4JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thrapston
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas break 4 days 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Howard117
Our friends and ourselves booked a Christmas break and can wholeheartedly recommend the Bridge Hotel to anyone who is looking for a friendly home from home with excellent food and service. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, Christmas Day saw 160 odd guest for Lunch, mainly people from outside but also residents. The meal was delicious and was served in a nice relaxed manner that saw everyone served in good time with the food hot. We have stopped at other Hotels for Christmas but this has been the best we have experienced

Room Tip: Only 17 rooms all of which are comforable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
68
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I had a 2 day KGB special deal. Two nights bed & breakfast for two, for £69. Good value but. . . . we opted to upgrade our room to the 'Riverside Suite' (room 117) which cost £20 per night extra. We thought it sounded lovely. We checked in at 4pm. The 'suite' was absolutely freezing. Granted, the weather outside was only just above freezing but we learnt that the heating was turned off during the day to economise. The radiators along the upstairs landing/passage, had had the on/off control knobs removed. The staff were very nice and a temporary electric oil filled radiator was brought up to our room within minutes of complaining. It took sometime for the room to get anywhere near warm! There is no heating whatsoever in the bathroom/toilet. After having a shower/bath you froze while drying off. The suite itself was made to look something that it wasn't. It had 4"x4" posts with planks of wood around the top trying to create the illusion of a grand 'four poster'. It didn't work! The drapes were simply stapled on and couldn't be pulled. They were purely decorative and held back with ties attached to cheap cup-hooks. There was a very uncomfortable two seater sofa which was so uncomfortable it was unbearable to sit on for longer than about ten minutes. All the furniture in the suite was 'brown' wood and mostly quite tatty, one of the round tables had numerous water ring marks from cups or glasses. The cleanliness of the carpet was disgraceful. We found 4 hair pins, a chunk of popcorn and an unbelievable amount of hair everywhere. By just dragging my shoe over the surface of the carpet I could accumulate a large 'hair ball'. The hair, we were later told, was from a bride's extensions the previous weekend. If they knew about it, then why wasn't it hoovered/cleaned thoroughly? There was a long, velour padded bench seat in the bathroom which again was smothered in hair and had a nasty brown mark on the front edge as though a dog had been leaning or rubbing along it. The hairs looked like dog hairs, but we were told that no dogs were allowed in the suite. The bathroom was very large with a good shower over the bath (albeit quite a climb to get into the bath). Again it was let down by be a little 'tatty'. The shaver socket/light had a partially melted plastic shade. The mirror over the basin had 2 screws missing at the bottom and the cap covering one of the top ones, broken off. There was only one small towel rail, although there was plenty of wall space to add a larger rail so that you could hang your bath towels up. I suggested it may be nice to have a 'heated towel rail' fitted.
The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Be aware that this suite is over the restaurant (and kitchen area - I think) and the noise travelled up, although it didn't go on late and didn't really disturb us. The breakfast was plentiful but average. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and after our complaints, waived the £40 extra that we should have paid for the 'upgrade'. The free WiFi didn't work, I assume because we were out of range, being the furthest room from the reception area.
All in all, I would have to say that the website photos are a little misleading. The rooms don't seem to be quite as pristine and luxurious as the website portrays. The frontage is now all car park except for a small smoking area by the front door. The whole hotel is getting a little 'shabby' and tired. Threadbare carpIt's in need of some updating and TLC. We had a very 'average' stay. Not the luxurious one we had been expecting. We won't be in a rush to go back. It's a shame because with very little effort this could be a beautiful hotel.
I would recommend avoiding the Riverside Suite in winter or if the weather forecast is for a cold spell, certainly until they change the 'heating off during the day' policy and install some heating in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Remember that if it's winter or a cold spell, the Riverside Suite (Room 117) can be very chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here whilst away on business. On arrival you walk into a large entrance foyer and conencted rooms which is a bit of a suprise. But its all very clean, tidy if not a little tired...but in a comfortable way. Too many hotels get the "treatment" but I think this should be left well alone.

Staff friendly and curtious.

Buffet meal was very good value

Bedrooms were large and comfortable but not over-done-up. Just snug.

No problems with the road at the front.

Breakfast fine.

Only thing we would ask to be improved is the apparently new booking system. If you book the advanced payment rooms for £48? and pre-book your evening buffet just be aware that although your booking confirmation will state the full price has been paid, you've only paid for the rooms. When you check out you'll get a bit of a suprise that you are billed for the evening buffet as you'll assume you've paid. The staff know what's going on though and clarify things. I checked my credit car on my return and sure enough only the room is paid for in advance. It wouldn't be difficult to make this clear when you book surely?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A few weeks ago we wanted to have 'lunch out' and went to the bridge (as it has new owners since we last went). The people there seem very nice, friendly and helpful. Saturday lunch is a buffet (and you can eat 'all you want'). For less than £7.00 you get a fair choice of food, hot and cold! Desert is extra which I expected. We had a nice lunch with drinks and desert all for less than £20.00. If you want something fancy then you might want to go else where but for a reasonably priced lunch in nice surroundings then to be honest I can't fault it! We'll be going back to have dinner some time soon, so watch this space.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly, this is a long review but does not incorporate everything we just wished to give our fair view and experince of The Bridge Hotel.
We had our wedding and reception at the Bridge hotel in September and were very pleased with the service we received. We booked the Bridge hotel in July 2011 with our first wedding co-ordinator after viewing several other venues. We were pleased with the hotel itself and the price, which for the service seemed very reasonable, especially in comparison to other places. Due to the length of time until our wedding we did not have much communication with the Bridge until we received a letter from the next wedding co-ordinator informing us she had taken over and we then had a meeting with her and Tony (the manager/owner) and were again happy with the service received, including assurances from Tony that it would all run smoothly and should we have any problems he would personally deal with them. Again we had a period of little contact with the Bridge as we were making our own plans but when we did contact them we found that they were in-between wedding co-ordinators and we dealt with Sally on reception for a short while who was very helpful and enabled us to continue with our plans, including arranging our meal taster at the hotel and other enquiries that cropped up in that time until the new wedding co-ordinator, Gemma, was hired. As soon as Gemma took over we had a meeting with her and was again very happy with the service we were receiving, as it was getting closer to our wedding we began to have more communication with the Bridge and never had a problem received a response from Gemma and she was always happy to help and even suggest ways to make our day better. Any issues that arose were dealt with quickly and professionally, for example the Bridge has changed parts of it’s wedding brochure from when we booked but as soon as we showed them ours it was agreed we could have whichever we preferred.
We had booked the honeymoon suite (The Riverside) for the night before our wedding for the bride to be and maid of honour to stay in. We arrived early in the afternoon the day before to bring along our own bits such as wedding favours, table plan, cameras, toys for children etc… and we were met by Tony who was there and helped us sort the things out as Gemma was not on duty for a few hours. As we arrived one of our suppliers was there setting the reception room up for us as we had chosen to book them independently of the Bridge and Tony assisted when a small problem arose with them ensuring us a stress free day. They allowed us into the honeymoon suite early so the wedding dress could be placed into there safely and out of sight!
On the day of the wedding itself the staff were all exceptional from doing the final bits of setting up to dealing with last minute issues such as who was dealing with our wedding music! The rooms had been set up perfectly between our suppliers and the Bridge. Throughout the day the staff were always on hand to help if needed and dealt with everything quickly and professionally. The transition from ceremony to wedding breakfast to evening reception all went very smoothly and quickly. The food for the wedding breakfast was exceptional, even better than when we tasted and picked it. It came out quickly and all at approximately the same time, each course was cleared away promptly to allow the next course to be served. We had 7 children there who all had their own menu which we had picked for them but when one asked for an adults dessert rather than his own they were happy to accommodate. All of our guests commented on how nice the food was. The drinks package we paid for was very good and we believe we may have received more drinks than we paid for! The evening buffet was again very good and they dealt with our cake expertly as soon as we had cut it to place it out at the same time as the buffet. In the evening the bar staff were quick to serve and there was rarely a queue which is very good for a smallish bar! The drinks were not expensive and everyone had a good time. The staff were good at dealing with the whole event including their patience with lots of children running around and intoxicated adults! The next morning we awake early to go down and tidy our bits from the rooms we had used (we paid for the ceremony room to be available in the evening as playroom for children) only to find that after the reception had finished the staff had tidied up and all our belongings were neatly piled to the side ready for us to collect, stress free! Also the remaining cake had been wrapped and was in the fridge waiting to be collected.
Overall we would say the wedding went perfectly and we have no complaints or criticisms which we could think of to say. All of our guests commented on the hotel, the staff and the general service at the Bridge hotel. We would honestly recommend The Bridge Hotel to anyone for weddings, parties, receptions, a meal or just as a hotel to stay for a night. Our wedding was stress free and went exactly as we had planned with a lot of help from The Bridge Hotel and Gemma‘s, the wedding co-ordinator, professionalism and helpfulness!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeThrapston, Owner at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate you taking time to put your experience with us in writing. We genuinely care for our guests and try and ensure that you have a stress free day. The whole team here is focused on guest care and will do our best so you have a wonderful time. I wish you both a happy and long married life and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed a few times at this hotel. It has never disappointed. It has character and charm. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. The breakfast is good although I do think they need to increase their selection of cereal and continental. All in all though a great stay and we will be back when we come again to Thrapston.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite. Lovely and spacious. Be aware, there are some stairs to climb and the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

WE recently had our wedding at the bridge Hotel Trrapston, we had the civil ceremony there and also the reception.
The ceremony room as set up perfect and all our guests could not get over how light and relaxing the room was, it gave a magic feeling.
The food at the reception was excellent, plenty of food on the plates, and all served hot. all the staff who served us were extremly polite and helpful, and nothing was to much trouble.

we would recomend this hotel to future people if we were asked.
we had a few problems , but these were ironed out and on the day there is only one way to describe it as PERFECT,

thank you pauline & bruce

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeThrapston, Owner at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we pride ourselves in the service we provide. A lot of your guests spoke to us on the day to say they were delighted with the food and service. I thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Thrapston NN14 4JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Thrapston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thrapston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful ancient market town of Thrapston in the heart of Northamptonshire, The Bridge Hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome and a wealth of character and charm.Thrapston is a fantastic location near to Kettering, Corby and the market town of Wellingborough. Within just 1 mile of the main A14 and adjacent to the River Nene, The Bridge Hotel offers a convenient, quiet and relaxing stay to our business and leisure customers.Old oak beams, log fires and period furniture are sympathetically combined with the requirements of the modern day traveller. Flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary WIFI, free on site parking, ensuite bathrooms and tea & coffee making facilities are offered in our guest rooms as standard.Our informal cosy dining room hosts a wonderful atmosphere and as it’s one of the oldest parts of the hotel, it affords original oak beams. Although our superb cuisine varies from traditional British fayre to dishes influenced from around the world, we pride ourselves on using only the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced locally where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.