We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverstone Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silverstone Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Silverstone Bed and Breakfast
The Chantry Coach House | Brackley Road, Silverstone NN12 8UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Silverstone B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What an amazing B&B Pete and Elaine run! I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband, while at the motogp at silverston race track as it said on their website they were 800m from the track (very true 10mins walking and we were at the racetrack main enterance!). When we arrived it was after 11pm but we got greated with a very friendly welcome and shown to our room. The room we stayed in was immaculate and very comfortable, although not en suite (as so many people want these days but it didnt bother me) the shared bathroom was kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. The breakfast I think is safe to say one of the best I have ever had with a wide selection of choice. I can honestly say I have never felt more at home when I have been away from home. So a big thank you to Pete and Elaine for opening there home and making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newry
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

when we arrived at this house we were made feel very welcome. the house and the bedrooms were beautiful. there were just my husband and I. The room was not an en suite, but it suited us fine as there didn't seem to be anyone other guess's in the house that night. Breakfast was lovely and a good choice, but had to be pre-ordered. it didn't bother us. would defiantly stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed by Elaine as we arrived and seemed happy with the place.
It was our first b&b experience so we didn't know exactly what to expect.
We went for dinner at the pub, which is a really nice walk to and from the b&b.
As we returned we were very quiet and made sure our children were too.
We were quite surprised to hear a loud tv, loud talking and loud laughing from the lounge until 11:30, bearing in mind we were in the rooms that lead off from the lounge. I could hear. Everything.
It seems a weird set up if guests in these rooms aren't respected and given the right to a peaceful night, especially as we had children and an early start.
I guess we felt a little like we'd invaded their space really.
The rooms were extremely hot, unbearable infact, which isn't the owners fault, but a fan provided would have been highly appreciated.
As other reviews stated we found Pete to be a bit unprofessional and "in your face". The customer service definitely needs work.
I tried to have a conversation about the amazing well in the dining area as they delivered breakfast this morning but was met with a snappy response from Pete and he disappeared. I felt very uncomfortable and embarressed.
Breakfast was ok but I found a hair (chest or "other") on my sons bread which wasn't great!
Coffee was nice.
Sky tv in each room is a nice bonus as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms and en suites were clean.
We had doors leading on to the garden which we had full access to.

This is good to visit if you basically just want a place to sleep or are attending Silverstone circuit as its less than 5 minutes away.

We did feel a little unwelcome and uncomfortable, but that aside the place is beautiful and ok if you just need somewhere to stay for one night.

A previous reviewer said thhey accept just cash, we were told they accept card and cash. The only place you can get cash in the village is at the pub (which is amazing and worth a visit)!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here in the June of this year for 3 night. A great B&B with friend hosts and a breakfast that sets you up for a cold and wet day at Silverstone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Maybe I'm used to nice chain hotels but for Β£70 a night I expect more than 1 bathroom per 5 rooms.

The minute we walked in we were asked to make sure our shoes were clean! Not the nice warm welcome others have mentioned.

The room was okay but we were a bit shocked when we found out that 5 rooms had to share a bathroom. We knew people from 4 out of the 5 rooms so it wasn't too bad and we fit our showering in around each other. If your heading for a night out - start getting ready early to make sure your ready in plenty of time! It could be a long wait if your 5th in the queue.

The website should show greater clarity of the room/bathroom situation.

When we said we were staying here for a birthday party, their response was keep it down when you come in.

We came without an umbrella and it was like asking the earth to borrow one from the owners.

Breakfast was fine - again good that we knew most of the other rooms as we sat on a large table together. Would not like this if I had to sit with strangers and eat together.

Check out was a joke - the bloke kept asking everyone over and over again on checking out if they had paid.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverstoneGeezer, Owner at Silverstone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
This review was left 6 months after the writer stayed with us. Commenting on the points raised :-

In very poor weather conditions, we do ask people to check their shoes before they walk across our carpets. When we forget, and people do deposit mud on the carpet, they're upset that they've done it, so this is helpful for everybody.

There are 5 doors leading onto our main landing, however we have 3 en suite bathrooms.

If guests are likely to be back in the early hours of the morning, we do ask them to be as quiet as possible when coming back into the house, where other guests will be asleep. We don't see anything wrong in that, frankly.

We always have an umbrella available for guests, right beside the front door.

As for breakfast, and sitting at one large table - this is a feature of staying with us, not something to complain about ! Our dining room is magnificent, and universally admired by all our guests, who love the opportunity to chat with others at the table, compare notes on what they'll be doing at the circuit that day, and so on.

"The Bloke" the writer refers to must be myself. If there are several guests all leaving at the same time it can be difficult to keep track of who's paid, who's returned their room key, and so on. We often lose room keys that way, and a few people a year leave without paying, although never deliberately as far as we know.

Of course we're sorry that this guest felt they hadn't enjoyed their stay, but the fact it's taken them 6 months to get around to leaving a review must weaken that review, particularly in light of the very positive reviews, which we can only recommend you read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

during the recent bad weather my wife and i were travelling back from collecting my sister in law, when we found our selves trapped on the closed A43 due to a large amount of snow. we managed to get off the A43 and found the Chantry bed and breakfast, we were the first guests to arrive un-announced and they assumed they would be closed until the Spring. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to our comfortable very clean rooms, they even offered to dry out snow soaked clothes. by the time we were ready to go out for an evening meal, all rooms were full. Price was extremely reasonable, they could have charged dearer as there were so many people wanting accommodation. Breakfast was very good, hospitality was even better. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone, so much so we have booked a space in their garden for our tent for the Grand Prix.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We booked the room as it appeared to be central between the local pub and silverstone circuit. It proved to be the perfect location. Pete and Elaine are great hosts and accomodated our late night arrival (due to travel distance & working late). The hotel is more like staying at a house than a hotel and is very comfy. One really interesting surprise was to find the dining room table sat over an old well which was lit very well. Made for an interesting conversation piece over dinner. The local pub was a decent visit. Would recommend the hotel to anyone and would certainly book again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverstone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstone Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Chantry Coach House | Brackley Road, Silverstone NN12 8UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Silverstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silverstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're the closest accommodation to Silverstone racing circuit, which is 800 metres away. We offer spotless, comfortable accommodation, with a full English breakfast, served in our vaulted, galleried dining room, with 20 metre deep well beneath the dining table, to send you on your way. Silverstone Golf club is very close, as is Whittlebury Park. All rooms have TV, radio/alarm and tea/coffee making facilities. We offer ample parking and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silverstone Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverstone b&b
Silverstone Hotel Silverstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverstone Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.