We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverstone Race Course

Silverstone Race Course
Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone NN12 8TN, England
0844 3728 200
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Silverstone Circuit is an English motor racing circuit in Northamptonshire. It is widely known as the home of the British Grand Prix, which was first hosted there in 1948 and which has been held on the circuit yearly since 1987. The 1950 British Grand Prix of Silverstone was the first race in the Formula One World Championship. Silverstone Circuit was built on the site of World War II Royal Air Force bomber station, RAF Silverstone.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I bought my husband a red letter day for a Ferrari experience as a Christmas present. He only managed to use it last week but was blown away by the experience. Lovely setting, plenty of space. Shop a little pricey but to be expected. Will definitely come again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    98
    28
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend,Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great circuit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went for World Superbikes and had a great time. Loads of grandstands and great views. Only paid £10 each for pit passes and met some of my heroes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Silverstone tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Took my 7 year old son who is F1 mad on a silverstone tour for a birthday treat.

It was his first visit to silverstone and it did not disappoint. The tour was two and a half hours and we were taken by mini bus around the site. Along the way were stop offs at various points around the circuit and the knowledgeable and friendly tour guide gave a detailed history of the circuit and its various points of interest. The highlight was a detailed tour of 'the wing', going down to the pit lane of the grand prix circuit, and having pictures taken on the podium. It was also magical to watch the ferarri's on the experience day's storming down the home straight.

I would recommend the tour as a must for any racing enthusiast. We managed to get discounted tickets for an offer on 'fathers day' this year, so do look out for similar offers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Single seater experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a retirement present and a great gift. The drive was fantastic! The briefing was a bit hurried and a great deal to remember and could scare you if you let it. Staff were well organised and helpful. The shop was small and as you would expect quite expensive and the cafe was over a fiver for a tea and a coffee which we thought was steep. For the spectator the Stowe circuit was a bit basic with no stands therefore no shelter and just a bank to stand on - glad my wife took her folding chair. The view for her was brief as most of the circuit was out of view but she got good pictures when we where in the pits. It's a great present for any age and plenty of choice of vehicles to try we would do it again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
668 reviews 668 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
“Not that exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I guess the fact that the whole Grand Prix thing does nothing for me meant this was never likely to be a 5 star review.

This was a brief tour of Silverstone in stinking weather and therefore even any planned Ferrari track days were in the pits. It was mainly a quick drive around the outskirts in an old minibus with some reference to specific points of the track and their relevance (e.g. where Schumacher crashed). A quick look at the British Racing Club area (trophies, model cars), view of the control room, and a chance to stand on the (old) podium and we were off.

Some information was interesting (mainly the dealings of Mr Ecclestone) but all in all it did not leave me wanting to head to Silverstone for a race.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverstone Race Course also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Helmdon, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Silverstone Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverstone Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.