We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Benefield Wheatsheaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oundle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Benefield Wheatsheaf
Save
You added The Benefield Wheatsheaf to your Saves list
Upper Main Street | Upper Benefield, Oundle PE8 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Oundle B&B and Inns
Towcester
1 review
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped off at this lovely country hotel for Sunday lunch last week after visiting a near by country park, we had the set 3 course lunch it was to die for and priced well, all the staff were really friendly, nothing was to much trouble, we asked for smaller portions for our children and they were also priced reasonably, so many places charge far to much for children’s portions. We also asked to see the hotel rooms which were all lovely and in character with the old hotel and again well priced, we will be making plans to have a night away from the children and stay over, the owner Deana showed us round, they also had the most beautiful marquee in the garden which they use for out door parties and weddings.

A true hidden Gem near Oundle

Claire G

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

It appears this place went bankrupt in late 2011, which means it has had temporary staff, presumably while the receiver finds a new owner. Not knowing this, it puzzled us as to why there were hardly any restaurant tables occupied on Friday and Saturday nights. Presumably, the locals are avoiding it in the circumstances, with good reason: while some food was all right, the lamb served at dinner was inedible. With only three tables occupied on a Saturday night, there were complaints from two of them about the food.

The temporary staff tried hard, but nobody experienced in charge, there were problems with the bill and other issues. It's a shame, because as others say, the bedrooms are large, newly fitted and comfortable. It has good potential, if there is a new , committed and experienced owner, and a new chef, but avoid until then.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I know this hotel has been going through a difficult time lately but our walking group stayed there in March and we were very impressed. Lovely spacious rooms well provided with giant beds, TV and WIFI. Nice garden with great views for making the best of the weather. We had a special menu meal on Saturday night which was delicious, the chef clearly knows his stuff. Also perhaps the best (certainly the biggest!) breakfast ever. The staff could not have been more charming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel has been an excellent find when working on contract in the Corby Area. I have been here now for an extended period and find the staff and facilities without fault. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with TV and WiFi; I can relax or work as the need dictates. The food is always carefully prepared and a good range of options. The Breakfast is unparalleled. The setting in the countryside between Corby and Oundle is absolutely charming and the Hotel is both a haven at the end of a busy day and a suitable base for exploration of many local atractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have stayed here regularly and can recommend the quality of the rooms, the great breakfasts and dinner and the freindly staff who always make you welcome. Other plus points are plenty of convenient parking, location and access.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel and new lodge are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Please don't give them money, Please don't give them money, please don't give them money

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here just before Xmas. The room was fantastic as was the food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. We found the staff to be very friendly and, generally, helpful. The only problem was the hotel was cold and empty - it was mistifying that there were no celebrations going on at what should be a very busy time of the year. When asked the staff who did not know the reason for this. Perhaps they should market themselves - it is, after all, potentially a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if its is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Benefield Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benefield Wheatsheaf

Address: Upper Main Street | Upper Benefield, Oundle PE8 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oundle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country hotel with stunning views of the Northamptonshire countryside situated in the heart of Rockingham Forest between Oundle and Corby. Relax in our cosy stone-walled lounge & bar or enjoy excellent food in our light, airy Garden Room restaurant or on our terrace in the summer. High quality, comfortable accommodation with stylish rooms furnished in traditional and contemporary style, including one with four-poster bed. We promise friendly hospitality, attentive service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Benefield Wheatsheaf Hotel Oundle
The Benefield Wheatsheaf Oundle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benefield Wheatsheaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.