We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay at Hawthorns Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn House Hotel
Save Saved
You added Hawthorn House Hotel to your Saves list
2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kettering
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“One night stay at Hawthorns Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Appreciated the warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and victorian charm of the hotel.The much mentioned breakfast fulfilled all expectations. This low budget hotel is never the less good full of character and a really nice alternative for those looking for an alternative to the modern built budget hotels.

Room Tip: The blue room has a classic carved wood victorian bed but with an up to date and very comfortable ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us, it was lovely to have met you all and I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and were comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Such a warm welcome and comfortable accomodation could not believe the breakfast, spent two nights and was asked what we would like on both days, Was suprised how close town was, 10 mins walk and 20 mins walk to Wicksteed Park where we were going to Classic Car rally.
Found Cafe Culture in town, good food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: stayed in Coach House room great if you want to stay out late and parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us, it was a pleasure to have met you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have in the past stayed at the holiday inn, not now! A real breakfast and comfortable accomodation, and the golden finish to the victorian woodwork just had to be felt {Iam an old woodworker} we found it very handy for our visit to family. we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Hawthorn House. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. Food lovely and rooms comfortable. Location central within ten minutes of town centre. ##################################<####

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in September to attend a family 'do'. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable and breakfast lovely. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Mrs McQuade's and I wish it could have been longer. I got horribly lost on the way from Birmingham & showed up 2 hours late, but Mrs McQuade was still waiting up for me. The room was clean & cozy with every amenity you could ask for. Breakfast both mornings was wonderful. If I ever come back to Kettering, I know where I'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very comfortable, Mrs McQuade is a lovely, welcoming host.. it was the perfect stay while we were in Kettering for a wedding. Would recommend highly to anyone visiting the area needing accommodation for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House Hotel

Address: 2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn House (private) Hotel is a beautiful Victorian town house situated close to the center of Kettering. Established in 1975, the resident owners, the McQuade family have welcomed guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kettering, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.