We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enough to keep most ages amused” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Barton Road, Kettering, England
01536 512475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Kettering
Attraction details
cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“enough to keep most ages amused”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

want to enjoy a fun family day out then look no further, ideal for all ages and even if the cup & saucer ride doesn't stir you then there are plenty of others that will and if your not up to the rides then a gentle stroll around the park may be in order
take a pack up though as some of the food can be on the expensive side

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    184
    105
    35
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a lovely sunny sunday morning at the park excellent value for money.Well maintained rides and park great for smaller children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great day out if you're in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We live quite near to Wicky Park and have been going there since I was a small child so I am fond of the place. It's a huge park with plenty of open spaces and rides are grouped in sections. There are fairly lengthy walks in between with good pathways and big green areas so take a football!
The free part of the park is excellent with spongy floors throughout.
There is one roller coaster which is quite dated but my two loved it! A newer log flume and a few other tame rides. Die instead not those who seek. The thrills of big rides but good for smaller kids.
We never buy food there as its chips hotdogs etc. There are a thousand places to have a picnic and as you park the car in the middle, it's easily accessible throughout the day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lives on Nostalgia - but its what you make it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Now I grew up in Kettering and used to visit Wicksteed Park regularly, I even worked there in the summers as a teenager... now if you read the reviews that seems to be a reoccurring theme!
Wicksteed Park is really what you make it.. as a free parkland with an ample playground its great. Go with your Tesco Clubcard vouchers and its a reasonably priced day out for a young family (Don't expect the big rides of a theme park, this is a park with attractions - Think miniature railway, boating lake and kids attractions and you won't go far wrong. Now go for a day out with two kids expect to pay £60 for a family of four for ride wrist bands, plus £6 to park for a pretty limited experience. You really need to decide if that is good value, by checking the rides you might want to use first as there is not much thee for adults. In honesty, you would be better spending that sot of money somewhere else, but local people can walk into the park and enjoy it as a park regularly (my kids only ever used to be allowed on the miniature railway and free playground when we visited regularly)
Take a picnic - the grounds are vast, and the catering is atrocious and expensive. We queued 20 mins whilst four teenagers attempted to cook chips. It was as if lunch time came as a surprise.. Expect to pay £1.60 for a very small cone of over cooked chips.
The park is a registered charity and is getting a bit run down these days, but it has improved on a few years ago when it was in dire need of maintenance, but it still probably has the saddest "Crazy Golf" course in the area!

Not a patch on the likes of Twin Lakes, which isn't that far away

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great park, for young children. The entry into the park is £6 for a car. Your children can then use all the swings and slides for free and this is a very good playground for stretching the skills of little ones under supervision.
Wristbands are £17 per person, or you can buy a sheet of tickets for £25. The sheet worked quite well for two children aged 10 and 12 and they chose their rides working out which they liked best. For another two grandchildren aged 2 and 5 we did have job to use all the £25.
Don't forget to take buckets and spades too as there is a giant sandpit which the younger's ones enjoyed. There is plenty of grass for a picnic, or if you wish you can buy food. The first time we went there was a bird show too all in with the entry price. A great place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicksteed Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.