We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best day out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Barton Road, Kettering, England
01536 512475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Kettering
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best day out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rides are on a ticket system which is not explained. I asked for a ride for my grandchild and was told it was 2 tickets. I said that there was only one cold and I was told to take it or leave it. The food was expensive and frankly awful. Not one member of staff could have cared less. The car park is grass and also expensive. Not an experience I shall repeat. A shame as its within walking distance of my home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    168
    101
    33
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Day Out At Wicksteed Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The park is set in lovely grassed areas along with a good few trees.There is plenty of Free Swings and Slides for the Younger Generation along with quit a few paid for rides best to buy a wristband for these.
You can obtain fish & chips,also Tea & Coffee,There also a bar available.
If you do come to Wickstead you must have a ride round the park on the Miniature Railway lovely ride around the Lake and around most of the Park.
Entrance is FREE if on foot,but there is a charge for Car Parking £ 6.00 i think

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great for the children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wicksteed Park was my favourite place to go to when I was a child and it hasn't changed that much in 50 years apart from the most up to the minute rides and attractions. The train and boating lakes are still there as is the water chute. There are acres of open parkland to enjoy a picnic or just a walk/games and the children absolutely love it. My grandchildren still enjoy going there and the train ride around the lake and through the tunnel is a must! There are plenty of places for food or you can just bring your own and there is ample car parking. They also do a Show in the Pavilion with afternoon teas or just evening entertainment and this Christmas it is a Hollywood Theme with Christmas Lunch but you do have to book in advance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“peoples park on rather expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When philanthropist Charles wicksteed inaugurated this park it was dedicated to the people of Kettering. When I was a child {admittedly a long time ago }. Park entrance was free even car parking. Indeed the only things that incurred a cost was the train ride pony rides and the water chute to the best of my memory these were sixpence in real money {2 1/2 p today} Oh I forgot the boats on the lake,apart from the paddle boats you needed a "grown up" in tow for these delights. Apart from the odd 2d {less than 1p } It cost nothing. there were wide expanses of grass to play or picnic on {now carparks and loads of tiddlers, newts, frogs and tadpoles to catch in the various ponds, streams and the lake. I caught my first proper fish from the lake overflow stream. How things have changed! To take my grandchildren there now really has to be budgeted for.Pay to get in pay for parking .pay,pay,pay!!! Verily Mr, Wicksteed may be heard rapidly spinning where he should be laid to rest.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of free play areas and space for family picnics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Can buy tickets for train etc not lots rides Drayton manor or gullivers style but much cheaper and more space. Can buy yearly band if local v good value

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicksteed Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.