We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fawsley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fawsley Hall to your Saves list
Fawsley Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fawsley | Near Daventry, Fawsley NN11 3BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Business Conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I facilitated a peer review conference for 12 CEOs and MDs over two days at Fawsley Hall. The service we received was excellent. We had a private dining room for dinner and the staff were brilliant. Even when we changed seats at each course they got the orders right. All rooms are great and some are magnificent. The older Elizabethan rooms are full of character which requires you to allow for some eccentricity in layout and fittings when catering for the modern guest.

The conference room was light and airy and our refreshments and lunch arrived exactly when we asked for it. Staff were unobtrusive and nothing was too much trouble.

The Spa is small but nice. The staff are attentive. If you wish to receive spa treatment you absolutely must book early even if you've booked a spa stay as the availability is limited.

Walks around the area are great and there are some interesting finds if you are a geocacher.

Overall a great couple of days

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your two day stay at Fawsley Hall recently, and with the service you received from the team. We pride ourselves on offering discreet, professional service and the staff very much appreciate you taking the time to offer such positive feedback.
Being so centrally located in the UK, there are lots of places of interest to visit within a short distance, not least the country walks in the locality.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future and welcoming you back to Fawsley Hall!

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    82
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
85
246
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently held a corporate event at Fawsley Hall for 75 senior delegates, and I can say that from initial discussions through to the event itself, the support and service I received was great. The property itself is beautiful and we were lucky to have some sunshine (not sure I can credit the hotel with that) during our stay. I was aware of other events being held whilst we were in place but there was always a member of staff to help me and my colleagues. We had a private dinner for the 75 guests and the food was served hot and in a timely manner. Our bedrooms were very clean and comfortable and the check-in and out process was smooth. A great team spirit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Jo, thank you sincerely for taking the time to review your recent visit to Fawsley Hall. The team very much appreciate your kind comments and we would all look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion!

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My first visit- my guest has been before. My guest is in a wheelchair always a good test of a place.

We had a great time. The service was a particular feature. From being met as we went into the lounge bar area and were shown by a wheelie rout to the dining room the same staff member stayed with us to provide continuity. We were not , as in most places passed on to another team. This is a class joint and the service reflected that.

The food was good-very good. Imaginative and far from expensive for what it was. Two niggles- a tiny bit more beef would have been good - but it was very good beef - and the Yorkshire puds were fine but we had been spoilt the week before by the quite exceptional Yorkshire puds at the Swan at Lamport .

Very good cheese board and my guests pud was good too. We thought it was good- a lovely experience and good value.

The wine a Pomeral wasn't cheap but neither was it overpriced- it was lovely though.

It was tempting to get another bottle and stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I was so pleased to read your kind comments above, and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your point regarding the quantity of beef served to you and the Yorkshire Puddings has been noted, and conveyed to our Head Chef. I am delighted that you enjoyed your cheese board, and your guests, their puddings!

We look forward to welcoming you again on a future occasion, when perhaps you may stay a while longer.

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night for a business event.
Location is great, very rural with fine views.
The property is a bit of a maze of rooms. I was told it was rebuilt in the 1960s having fallen into ruin, so it is not all as old as it may seem. In any case, it feels grand and historic.
My room (40) was huge, big comfy bed, sofa, 2 armchairs, big bathroom with separate bath and shower. Only complaint is the creaky floorboards above which woke me at 7am.
Food OK, I wouldn't travel just for that.
Likewise spa OK, but I wouldn't travel just for that.
We walked across the hill and through the woods to Badby village, which I recommend, followed by a few pints in The Windmill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Fawsley Hall, which is a Grade 1 Listed building, did fall into a state of disrepair many years ago but was purchased by a local family in 1975, and sympathetically and beautifully restored during the 80’s and 90’s before opening as a hotel in 1998. Whilst there are one or two small additions, which are very much in keeping with the building, much of the Tudor, Victorian and Georgian splendour remains.

Hand Picked Hotels took ownership two months ago, and have plans to invest in further enhancing and upgrading the wonderful facilities Fawsley Hall provides.

We do hope that you may visit us again in the future.

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Centrally located, good meeting facilities (with free WiFi), very nice food and comfortable "individual" rooms. We used Fawsley for a recent business meeting and it ticked all the boxes. I'd definitely use it again for similar purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Rednaxela13 – your kind comments are very much appreciated, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my mum as a treat. The hotel was beautiful and weather was lovely . We ate in the brasserie and the food was fantastic with a good atmosphere.Would stay here again and can't wait to take my partner there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your kind comments; whilst we cannot take credit for the good weather you experienced, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the stunning historic buildings and the ambiance of the old Hall!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On the whole we were impressed although for the money we spent we have been to 5 star hotels of a higher standard (we spent £350 on the room which included a £60 dinner allowance). You can see why Fawsley is only a 4 star, there are some small improvements they could make which would make a big difference.

Food - We would normally chose the fine dining restaurant if there is one, but on this occasion we didn't fancy anything on the menu and were instead pleasantly surprised with the brasserie where we enjoyed a 3 course meal and a really nice bottle of wine (bearing in mind it was only £33 it was very good). We had an afternoon tea with champagne in the Great Hall and enjoyed that. The Great Hall is also a nice place for a drink before and after dinner. Breakfast the next morning was nice enough too, although my salmon/egg was just about warm.

Room - we were given a room one up from what I had booked and it was nice size with a 4 poster bed. The bathroom really needs updating, the shower was pretty terrible and it all looked quite tired. Bath robes were very hard. Poor selection of toiletries; no hair conditioner (and none in the spa either as I checked!). The blind in the room when pulled down had lots of stains (water) on it. The windows were FILTHY on the outside, especially one with beautiful views across to the church. I could just about see out for all the bird poo on it. I can't imagine these windows have been cleaned for a very long time. No extra water on turn down service which you would normally expect of a hotel charging this amount.

Service - Everyone we came across was pleasant, polite and smiled. It did take a while on 2 occasions to get the bill to sign for, but otherwise we had no complaints and thought the staff were very nice.

Spa - They do advertise day spa packages but I wouldn't come here just for the spa. The pool is pleasant, the heated outdoor Jacuzzi was very very nice (and I had it all to myself at 8.30am on a Sunday morning and with the rain drops on my head it was a tranquil place to be), but with just 2 thermal rooms there isn't enough to keep you entertained all day even if you had a couple of treatments I think you'd be hard pushed to spend all day there.

Worth a visit if you are local and I'll be looking out for offers as would go there again, if we weren't paying full price for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Fawsley Hall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa was purchased by Hand Picked Hotels at the end of August and is the 20th country house heritage property in the Collection. I am delighted to introduce myself as the new General Manager at Fawsley Hall, having been in the Group for over 6 years. Hand Picked Hotels prides itself on offering a quality four star product and I am sorry to learn that your experience did not reflect the standard associated with our Group.

Hand Picked Hotels do plan to invest in upgrading and enhancing the fabulous facilities we offer at Fawsley Hall, and I would recommend you regularly check our website www.handpickedhotels.co.uk for special offers.

I do take a very keen interest in all feedback and would be very pleased to discuss this further with you, should you wish to contact me mclayton@handpicked.co.uk

Mark Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fawsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawsley Hall

Address: Fawsley | Near Daventry, Fawsley NN11 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Fawsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fawsley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fawsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawsley Hall Hotel Fawsley
Hall Hotel Fawsley
Hall Fawsley
Fawsley Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fawsley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.