We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Coffee to go crazy for"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtyard Cafe

The Courtyard Cafe
6 Bishops Court, Daventry NN11 4NP, England
+44 1327 872687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 restaurants in Daventry
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: British, Ice Cream, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: The Courtyard Cafe is unique to Daventry and Northamptonshire, as everything is homemade and ethically sourced. We are a family business and over three generations we have 75 years experience in Hospitality between us. Anna-Marie is the Pastry and baking Genius, Mary is the Mother Hen and Loaf Queen, Paul is the Kitchen General, John is the Creative One and Rather Passionate, Anne is the Sweet Caring Lady, Amelia is the future and very talented baker, Michelle is delightful Saturday General, Harriet is our shining star, Georgia is our photographer, Anna is Saturday special. We are famous for are cakes and slices and are Oven Baked Potatoes, Soups, Breakfast with local free range rare breed eggs, local hand linked Sausages and Cured Bacon, Hams, Pate, Pork Pies. We have Coffee by Nespresso, All Leaf teas by Jeniers, Hot Chocolate by Whittard of Chelsea. We cater for gluten free, dairy free and always have breads, cakes and crumpets. We have a stunning location and endearing ambience like no other. We welcome the infirm, the very young, wheelchairs, mums and toddlers, families, groups and clubs and small weddings, wakes or parties and christenings. Please come and visit us to see how a cafe should feel and how service should be delivered x In October 2013 we were awarded Runner up, Northamptonshire Cafe/Tea room of the Year 2013.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Coffee to go crazy for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A relaxing welcoming oasis in our little market town. Cozy and bright with deffinitley the best coffee in Daventry. The friendly service and wide choice of menu provide snacks, freshley made soups and specials of the day baked potatoes and much more. The yummy home made cakes and scones are great for a treat along with an extensive choice of tea, coffee, scrummy hot chocolate and cold drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank-you so much. Lots of new and old customers are so impressed with the coffee, and they all seem to think it knocks spots of every single shop in Daventry and the surroundings xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    72
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So cosy, it's like sitting in a friends kitchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I visited this tearoom twice last month. I instantly fell in love with the cosy shabby chic decor. I have never seen such large tea & coffee menus! A simple latte, yet so delicious. Gorgeous hot chocolate. Delicious home-made cake and fresh, local produce. I love the breakfast baguette - bacon, sausage & egg. I must sample something different next week! If you are looking for a relaxed homely tearoom, with amazing service, delicious home cooking, and cosy decor this is the place to go. Well done John, Anna-Marie, Paul & team for creating the perfect tearoom!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
These words epitomise exactly what we were hoping to achieve. Other Cafe's can feel very "get them in, get them out", and ours is leisurely and one where we hope friends can meet for many years to come xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Having gone to the courtyard cafe on recommendation from a friend I took my childern and we had a great experience. Nothing was to much trouble for the friendly professional staff who looked after our every need. The service we recieved was freindly, warm and welcoming which is lost in high street chains. I will be making more visits to the courtyard cafe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank-you so much for your lovely review, and we sincerely hope to see you again xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Totally scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Really had a nice time with family and friends! Great food , great staff , great place , will definitely be coming back again ! Keep up the good work !!! See you again soon !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We just love that fact that one of our customers has used the word "Scrumptious" to describe us, totally elated xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A true little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The Courtyard Cafe is a true gem in Daventry, the staff and owners are so welcoming and friendly. I love it when i get 5 minutes to pop in for a nice hot chocolate and a spot of lunch. I also love the fact that they support the local business by buying thier produce, its so important to support one another in small comunities. 5 star all around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Candice thanks you so much, that's a lovely review xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Daventry, Northamptonshire
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 
Daventry, Northamptonshire
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.