We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just ok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daventry Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daventry Court Hotel to your Saves list
Daventry Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sedgemoor Way, Daventry NN11 0SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Daventry
Prenton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Was just ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a couple as we had things planned to do in the area. Throughout our stay we were the only couple there that we could see. The hotel is very much a business hotel with conference and meeting rooms everywhere.
The service here was very slow! Considering the hotel was not very busy I couldn't believe how long we had to wait for things. For example when we sat down in the restaurant for our evening meal we were given the menu then a few minutes later asked what we'd like to eat. So i asked if we could possibly order some drinks which we did. We then waited and waited and eventually our food arrived and still no drinks. On another night this hapened again with a different waiter. I've never been to a restaurant and not been asked if I'd like drinks. Then after we'd finished our mains we waited for so long that my other half got sick of waiting and went to the bar area to watch the football. I waited a little longer until i had to wave a waitress over and asked for the bill. I waited another while longer until I eventually got fed up and walked out and waited for them to find me in the bar! It wasn't even busy in the restaurant it just seemed like they were short staffed.
The breakfast was a lot better. Lovely atmosphere and everything was help yourself. There was a good variety of hot and cold foods and it was all very nice. There is some maintenance going on underneath the restaurant area so early in the morning there was a lot of banging and drilling. Not really a problem just glad our room was the other side of the hotel.
Our room was nice however we did pay to upgrade. We got a fridge and water daily, a kettle with plenty of choice of teas and coffee and a bigger bed and bathrobes and slippers. The rooms were cleaned and topped up daily. The pillows were a little uncomfortable.
The swimming pool was freezing! And I mean really freezing. You couldn't feel even the tiniest bit of heat going through it. I was so disapointed as I really wanted a nice relaxing swim everyday whilst here but it was honestly just too cold. There was also a class on one day that we was there so we just sat in the jacuzzi and watched. Loads of people got out early and left the class saying it was just too cold. A couple of people complained to the spa reception too I think. The jacuzzi was lovely and hot though but not very discreet next to a glass window by reception so everyone can see you.
The service at the bar wasn't much better. Often the lady behind the bar was too busy chatting and you'd be left waiting to be served for ages. The drinks seemed quite expensive too.
Overall our stay was just ok. We enjoyed the jacuzzi, our room and breakfast. The reception area and reception staff were very nice. I don't think we would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel
I am glad there were some great aspects of your visit that you enjoyed however it is disappointing to read that restaurant service did not exceed your expectations. We do value your feedback and so have taken this on board along with the food and beverage management team.
We do hope that you will visit us again in the future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    103
    85
    45
    35
See reviews for
59
83
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at the Daventry Court to attend a friend's birthday celebration in Daventry. The young lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. Room service was prompt and good value and the bed was uber comfy.......so much so that I missed breakfast and didn't check out until the last minute - I really could have had one of those 'stay in bed and read days' but alas house keeping needed to prep the room for the next evening's guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Daventry Court Hotel.
It is great to read your comments on our team, i have passed on your thoughts to demonstrate how much they were appreciated.
Our beds are extremely comfortable and i do understand your desire to stay and relax - it is a shame you were only staying one night.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great location and good facilities. Room was very clean and bed was large and very comfortable. Good quality flat screen TV in room with tea and coffee facilities. Overall a great experience and would stay here again when next in area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Daventry Court Hotel
It is great to hear how you had a good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Outwardly looks a very nice hotel and entrance lobby with bar adjacent very impressive. Rooms however are very tired and crying out for a makeover. TV is situated on top of luggage tray so you have to look down from the bed to view. The staff are the best part of the hotel, friendly and receptive to guests needs. The food was average and not a great deal of choice and extremely expensive for what it was. Breakfast is £12.95 and not worth it. Premier Inn charge £8.25 and is way better choice and way better value. Comfortable but never 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Daventry Court Hotel
Thank you for your kind words on out staff, they all are extremely customer focused and have a great desire to ensure our guests are welcomed and happy during their visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and was disappointed with the whole experience. The building is tired and well overdue a makeover and the staff reflect this with most of them being miserable. The food was terrible, I had two evening meals and each time the meat was tough and tasteless. The swimming pool was empty but I soon found the reason was that the water was really cold, I was told that I was brave by one of the local people that use the leisure centre who was on her way to the spa bath. There was a continual humming noise in the bedroom throughout the night from the heating pipes. I have stayed at this hotel several times and each time it appears to get worse and over this time it has had several different owners. I would not choose to back to this hotel but due to the business I am in I have no choice.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay
It is disappointing to read that you had several different issues during your visit, I do hope that you took advantage of our 24 hour duty manager to discuss these issues with as we do pride ourselves on ensuring our guests are satisfied during their stay.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here as part of a wedding party. When we arrived at the hotel there was quite a few people waiting to check in, there was one poor girl on reception and she was run off her feet, at one point she called to see if someone was there to help her!

When we finally checked in we was given the room key told breakfast times and not told where is was, we had to rely on people that had stayed the previous night to let us know!

When we got to our room it all looked very clean, I just happened to look out the window to find the window on the ground floor to not close properly! Which I don't find that safe on the car park!

The following morning I was woken at 6am to someone loading a van right outside our window and then driving off!

Not the best I have seen!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaventryCourt, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback
It is disappointing that you had to wait to check in however it is great to hear how additional resources were called upon to support our team.
Thank you for your kind words on the cleanliness – our housekeeping team pride themselves on their high standards so it is lovely to receive your feedback.
I do hope that you were able to mention to our team about the window as we value our guests safety and security very highly and if we have missed something we appreciate our guests informing us so we can take immediate action
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel might have a 4* rating, but it's low-end 4*. Tired, dated and well-used - would benefit from some investment. The food (just standard pub fayre) and drinks - pricey. Breakfast was luke-warm and dried-up - obviously cooked well in advance, watered down juice and bread not too fresh.

Since Barcelo sold out to Puma, the quality of these hotels has declined and looks to be heading (the same way as another hotel chain) towards the bargain coach break market - not a problem as long as you know what you're getting.

That said, it was clean enough, with pleasant staff. The room was a reasonable size and the bed comfy. We had the relaxing weekend we'd planned and for what we paid, feel we had value for money.

No major complaints, but probably wouldn't rush back and could only recommend with reservation.

Room Tip: Beware of 'add-ons' when booking online, eg breakfast @ £12. If you book at reception on ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaventryCourt, General Manager at Daventry Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
It is pleasing to read that you felt you had value for money and that you had the relaxing experience you had planned.
We do hope that you do visit us again in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daventry Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daventry Court Hotel

Address: Sedgemoor Way, Daventry NN11 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Daventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daventry Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and modern four-star Daventry Court Hotel is set in lovely landscaped grounds in the heart of the Saxon town of Daventry. With 155 refurbished rooms, including 23 premium rooms, it’s ideally located for enjoying high-speed thrills at Silverstone, horse-racing at Towcester, historic Ashby Castle and the National Trust’s beautiful and impressive Elizabethan House and Gardens at Canons Ashby. With excellent transport links, a Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool and beauty rooms, as well as great food in the Fuel Bar and Restaurant, there’s everything you need for a relaxing break that offers town and country experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daventry Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Daventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daventry Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.