We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Rugby East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Rugby East to your Saves list
Ibis Rugby East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dirft East Parklands, Crick NN6 7EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
saxmundham, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel, with good car parking, an excellent reception and good food. There is really nothing much nearby, it is on a n industrial park which sounds dreadful but isn't ! A comfortable base for those on business. The beds are very good, and the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive review regarding your stay with us

I have shared this with the team.

I was pleased you mentioned the Beds, these are all new beds and the whole of Ibis have these new beds, they have been designed for Ibis Hotel and have a 2 mattress support. and they are very comfy

We hope we are bale to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback

Regards

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    92
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
31
69
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have long been customers of Accor hotels, but have used Novotels both in the UK and on the Continent in the more recent past. Indeed, we hadn’t stayed at an Ibis for over twenty years. That isn’t because the Ibis had disappointed but the Novotels just happened to be right where we wanted or needed to stay.

An afternoon meeting in the Midlands, after which we looked to spend the night locally, provided the ideal opportunity to try out the brand once again. Early booking and pre-payment secured a very favourable tariff and we paid the supplement for the next morning’s “all you can eat” buffet breakfast.

Don’t be put off by the location of this hotel! It is situated in the middle of a business park, close to the motorway, so there are no scenic views from the rooms and its plain yet pleasing lines mirror the modest appearance of other Ibis hotels. Inside the hotel is where one spends ones time and the company, wisely, has invested its efforts in providing a modern, light yet comfortable interior.

Leaving the ample car park at the front of the hotel, one enters via the automatic sliding doors to reception – a warmly-lit area where we met amiable Assistant Manager, Mr Philips. We found him extremely friendly and attentive to our needs and, when he heard we’d been in the Midlands for a meeting, he conducted us on a tour of the conference facilities available there. The Ibis Rugby East has a selection of conference rooms for groups of many sizes and we were impressed by the flexible configurations of seating available, the screens for projected presentations, availability of Internet access (throughout the hotel) and proximity of tea and coffee and toilets. As the conference suites are set apart from the accommodation within the hotel, one shouldn’t experience disturbance from any noisy guest.

Our business for the day was done, however, so of greater importance on this visit was our own room. We occupied a room on the ground floor near reception and found it to be modern, clean and with a very good en suite shower room and toilet. TV and radio were available via a small flat screen in the room and, whilst understanding that this doubles as a monitor for Internet use (a wireless keyboard was also there but we did not use this facility), it does not compare favourably with other budget hotels in this regard. It was adequate for our modest needs and viewable from ones bed but looked out-of-date in this age of the wide-screen wall-mounted LCD TV. The bed was comfortable, the room temperature also. Note that provision of power to the room’s lights is dependent upon the placing of the room key card in a slot just inside the door. If one should remove the card, the lights would be extinguished (so get an extra key card if one of two guests needs to go elsewhere during the stay!).

There was a telephone inside the room but no instructions on its use (e.g. extension numbers for food orders or reception, or how to obtain an outside line if this is possible). The hotel offers a “24/7” snacks menu, based on its restaurant menu but there were no instructions on how one might avail oneself of this service. There were no vending machines in the hotel dispensing confectionery and soft drinks so the bar was the only source for the latter and, in the absence of any means to open a crown top, we were unable to buy fruit juice we could open at will during the night or before breakfast time.

We dined in the hotel and found the menu varied and interesting. We had no problems choosing our meals and they were served quickly and were delicious. I especially liked the crab and smoked salmon fishcake starter. My Chicken Piri Piri was well-cooked but lacked much evidence of piri piri – it should not be confused with Nando’s chicken or other similar dishes. My wife enjoyed her butternut squash soup that was pleasantly spicy and her lasagne. The food was reasonably priced and we thought the meal, at less than £20 per head including drinks, very good value.

The bar, immediately adjacent to the restaurant area, offers a range of draught and bottled beers and a selection of wines and spirits. I was surprised that I was able to exhaust the hotel’s supply of Peroni (four bottles) but acceptable alternatives were also enjoyed. There is a TV in the bar but the sound was muted and that was most welcome. The atmosphere was agreeable and the sofas very spongy and comfortable! Waitresses who staffed the bar were pleasant and enthusiastic if lacking in experience and knowledge – a little remedial training in types of wines and how to dispense a pint would solve this.

At the rear of the hotel is a garden – a lovely little bit of green bordered by conifers with pleasantly- planted tubs. Metal tables and chairs and wooden bench seating permit patrons to enjoy their drinks outside and this is one of two established smoking areas for customers, the other being outside the main entrance. Unfortunately, there was no evidence of the emptying of wall-mounted and other provided ashtrays that were overflowing and there was also other litter visible that made both areas scruffy. A daily sweep would solve this issue.

The buffet breakfast was adequate and tasty, representing good value for the price paid. I found the sausages especially tasty.

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff and management very smart, friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay there again, should the need for accommodation in the area arise and shall be recommending the establishment to family, friends and associates. Though marketed as a budget hotel, it is obviously popular with many nationalities and is truly a gem beyond its stars.

Room Tip: Motorway and rail noise is audible outside at the rear of the hotel so one may prefer a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely motivating words regarding your stay with us

I was pleased that you found the hotel to be off a good standard offering value for money with a great team to look after you
I was pleased to see you mention Bode, and i have passed this back to him

As a team we review how our guest feedback and always take on board any feedback they offer

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Regards

Sharon McEvoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This IBIS is a great overnighter if you are on a budget. Cheap if you book in advance on the website, decent size rooms with full size bathrooms. Small bar restaurant on site if you don't want to venture too far and agood variety for breakfast. Clean tidy and a good choice for a budget overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Adrian

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay at the Hotel
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we met your expectations.
We do always try to ensure we deliver service that is beyond our Stars, Our customers are important to us and as a team we work together to deliver a good experience.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Once again thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very great full.
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very helpful and polite staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed and decent evening meals.

Bad points: Graffiti in the lift, not so great quality of the food at breakfast, and a very outdated TV system in the rooms that needs some of the freeview channels adding (even channel 5 is not working).

I stayed twice in the last month and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you.
We do have some small scratches in the lift area that we are waiting for this to be removed.
The TV System is a being reviewed, we are unable at the moment to get Channel 5, this is a location issue and to do with satellite, and some over houses in this area also cannot get this channel.
I have passed your feedback onto our Head office regarding the TV System; The System does allow internet access and also up to date movies.
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and we look forward to welcoming to you the hotel again
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here overnight driving from Scotland to London, and had a very relaxing and comfortable stay, just what we needed by then. The beds are spacious & wonderfully comfortable, with plump duvet and cushions. The bathroom is good-sized, with plenty of hot water. Furnishings are more than adequate, too, including a sofa, though there wasn't enough space for both sides of a double bed to have a bedside table (the price you pay for the roomy bed!). We had breakfast as provided in the nice dining room, which was pricey but worth it if you can manage to take advantage of all that's on offer so you won't need much/any lunch! The hotel is very well located just off the M1 but not unduly noisy. Excellent value for £30 for two people, and a very refreshing sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Philippa

Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay at the Hotel
We are pleased that you had a enjoyable stay with us and that you felt that we were off good value for money, this is so important these days.
I have passed over to the team your feedback to the team who were delighted to read it.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

stopped here for a wedding.

rang receptionist to get directions who was very unhelpful and quite rude.

on arriving, there was ample parking which was great.
the rooms were pretty bog standard but for the price, you cant complain.

the bed was really comfy which was a pleasant surprise. the bathroom was a big let down. below standard shower, the

wash basin was cracked and old fashioned, very low pressure on wash basin also.

the hotel bar was open till 1am so a added bonus.

not bad for price but needs a few tweeks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay.
I was sorry to see that you didnt get off to a good start, and i am sure who ever your spoke with, didnt mean to appear to be rude, i will discuss this with the team in our Next meeting.
We will look at your feedback as a team and see where can can make some improvements.
Thank you for taking the time and we hope we are able to welcome you again to the hotel
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the Ibis last Saturday on the way to a car show on Sunday. We chose the hotel primarily for the room rate - £30.00 for two people isn't bad! Welcoming staff on the front desk who did their best to persuade us to dine at the hotel, but happily helped book a taxi when they realised we weren't going to change our minds. Room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. We slept with the windows open and could just hear the traffic, but it wasn't at all intrusive. Just remember, you're technically in an industrial park so don't expect a beautiful view! Bar prices didn't seem too bad; didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment, but all in all, will go back when we're next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, General Manager at Ibis Rugby East, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay,
Its nice to hear other peoples views.
I have passed this over to the team.
We do try and give good value for money, and i am happy that you were able to take advantage of one of our many deals we have on our interent site.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Rugby East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rugby East

Address: Dirft East Parklands, Crick NN6 7EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Crick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Rugby East 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Hotel & Restaurant Rugby East is just off the M1 motorway, with good access to the M6 and the region’s major road network, the Ibis Rugby East offers free parking and en suite rooms at great-value rates. Just a few hundred meters from junction 18 of the M1, the Ibis Rugby East has a convenient location, whether you are visiting Rugby on business or exploring the area as a tourist. The hotel’s excellent access to the M40, the M69, the M42, the A14, the A5 and A45 means that all that the region has to offer is within easy reach. All of the en suite rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access available throughout the Hotel FREE off charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Rugby East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rugby East Hotel Crick
Ibis Rugby East Crick, Northamptonshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Rugby East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.