We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill at Badby

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windmill at Badby
Save
You added The Windmill at Badby to your Saves list
Main Street, Badby, Daventry NN11 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here overnight as a birthday treat recently and had a very relaxing stay. The evening meal was excellent, and nor could we fault the delicious full English breakfast the next morning. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and thankfully quiet (considering it was over the pub's main entrance!) The staff are helpful and friendly but not intrusive in any way, and we hope to stay here again in the future. Highly recommended for a peaceful get-away-from-it-all break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting our daughter in Daventry. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Zoe looked after us during our stay and was a credit to the hotel, she was just like a daughter to us, so friendly and she went the extra mile.

We will definately stay here again on our next visit to our daughter's maybe later this year if not spring. Bet christmas is fantastic here.

The village was like a little piece of heaven, so quiet and restful. We felt as if we had been away for a week not a couple of days.

So glad we found this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room at the front of the hotel, not deliberately. The bar downstairs was nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food was simply delicious and staff very good natured and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were a family group of very wide age range and tastes but everyone was catered for (pun intended). Warm welcome, good portions, interesting menu, and very prompt service considering it's freshly cooked. Too many highlights to mention but highly recommended to try yourselves!

Room Tip: Didn't stay here but will on next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a break whilst making my way down to Heathrow from the North. The price was fairly premium for a single person and the room was very basic, clean with a nice flat screen TV. There was two others with us and they received a much better room for only a slight increase in price. There was definately more value for couples and pairs.

The check in was excellent and the member of staff was very friendly and took great pride in her work and was more than willing to help with any and all enquiries!

We ordered food from the pub menu and to put it mildy it was simply outstanding. The hotel was worth staying in just to sample the food! A few of us had a meal and every one of them appeared to be amazing.

The only disappointment in this hotel was the lack of internet. They do have it in the hotel however the signal is just poor. For the price you pay I would have expected better in this department and I feel it is something they should rectify.

In summary this placed is priced medium to high however the staff and the food bring the price into line making it reasonable value for money. Should I ever be in this small village again I would probably stay as it has a very comfortable and cosy feel and the food was exceptional.

Room Tip: The Windmill room is the best in the property and worth requesting when making a booking. It is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Windmill in Badby and received a friendly welcome. The rooms were clean and fairly well fitted out. The breakfast was freshly cooked and you could have any combination of food. The bar was busy but the service for bar food was still good. The hotel is in a delightful quiet village but close to amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife are at the Windmill for the third time in three days! Every visit we have had a brilliant time, the food is amazing, but what really makes this place special is the amazing team that work here. Lead by Steve and Jacqui, Giorgo (Jim!), Jen, Charli along with the great chefs can't do enough for you, even arranging our accommodation as they were full. So impressed were we that we've already booked to come back. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayleigh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place, the service is second to none, the food is excellent, as is the selection of beers and wines, and the staff are some of the nicest people we've met in a long time. Nothing was too much trouble. The menu, although looked expensive, when our food arrived it certainly wasn't pub grub, it even surpassed the gastro pub label, this was restaurant quality food, in a relaxed and friendly environment. We desperately wanted to stay but they were fully booked, but recommended a lovely b&b in the next village. So good was our experience that we've booked to come back in three weeks time!!! Thank you Steve, Jacqui, Jim-Bob, Charli, Jen, and the marvelous chefs, anyone reading this, don't drive past you have to visit The Windmill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windmill at Badby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill at Badby

Address: Main Street, Badby, Daventry NN11 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Badby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Windmill At Badby Hotel Badby
The Windmill Badby
The Windmill At Badby England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill at Badby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.