We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill at Badby

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windmill at Badby
Save
You added The Windmill at Badby to your Saves list
Main Street, Badby, Daventry NN11 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our over night accommodation for a wedding near by. The room was lovely and was clean and tidy. Didn't get to see much else, breakfast was lovely in the morning. The staff where pleasant and we are most thankful for accommodating us with an early check in. We hope to come back as the surrounding area seems lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the windmill room which was most comfortable with a nice roomy shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
43
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had an enjoyable meal with friends, made welcome and not hurried as we were chatting. Seemed to be quite a steady stream of customers coming and going during the evening, could hear people chatting around us without it being intrusive. We all made different choices when ordering, all were well cooked and presented and the deserts weren't bad either!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Situated in a beautiful village location the food in the restaurant was of a high standard when we visited.

This was our third visit and we returned as it had been so good each time. What more do I need to say!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This lovely old country pub is located near the centre of a typical Northamptonshire village. From the outside it looks like many other old pubs and inside the construction and décor are traditional but with a smart, crisp feel about it. There are oak beams, log fires flag stone floors.
There are a number of different eating areas, both inside and out, depending on your taste and requirement. One table was in the inglenook fireplace.
The main menu was of traditional pub fare at reasonable prices. They also had an excellent ‘Specials’ Menu.
The loos were impeccable - and not to be missed!
We will certainly be going there again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I haven't yet stayed in The Windmill but I did have lunch there with a friend yesterday, and I found the menu very professional and the food was simply divine. They have hand-made deserts that they clearly put a lot of effort into the presentation, and I loved the onion rings!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Following a long stroll in the spring country air, we arriived at this wonderful pub weary, sweating, 2 shatteted 3 year olds and a rather thirsty spaniel. Greeted with a wonderful smile, 2 pints of real ale and a bucket of water for the dog. Nothing was too much, we felt so welcome and so rested there for 2 hours. A must visit for anyway visiting Badby/Fawsley. Food fresh and homemade! Will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had Sunday lunch to celebrate a family birthday with 11 adults and 2 kids. We were able to have exclusive use of the snug with a big table set-up, which was perfect for the occasion. Good quality pub food with excellent service. All the staff were unfailingly courteous. They even iced an appropriate message on the birthday cake we had brought with us without being asked !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windmill at Badby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill at Badby

Address: Main Street, Badby, Daventry NN11 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Badby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Windmill At Badby Hotel Badby
The Windmill Badby
The Windmill At Badby England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill at Badby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.