We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food,shame about the owner !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Main Street, Weaverthorpe Y017 8EX, England
01944 738204
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
scarboro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice food,shame about the owner !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food is always good,though not exceptional,although the owner is exceptionally rude. Its a real shame,i really cant understand how you could be in the trade with an attitude like his. I wont be giving him any more of my money

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very rude landlord”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

the food is lovely but the night was spoilt by the arrogant and very rude landlord .......he doesnt deserve any customers we were made to feel very uncomfortable an experience i will not be repeating

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish the food was amazing!!! Couldn't decide between the fish shots and duck salad so the owner (jez) said leave it with me and brought me out the fish shots with the duck salad as an extra shot...beautiful and a really nice touch!
Lamb on the special board as main beautiful!
Chocolate fondant for desert amazing!!! Melts in your mouth!
I can't say enough about the bluebell I always get really looked after and the food is very hard to beat!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“best Inn for miles, many miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

once again the Blue Bell ticked all the boxes. out in the country, quite village, brilliant pub. Huge log fire, welcoming host, beer was blob on, Timothy Taylors at its best.. sunday lunch, thai fish cakes, roast beef n puds, followed by moreish sweets. sat for over 2 hours, no probs,no rush , do not miss out on the Bell.....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food but landlord with attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant we have visited many times over the last couple of years. The food is good but a little expensive. The main problem here is the arrogant and snappy landlord. He is not an easy man to get along with and is at best ignorant. We would go here more if the landlord was more friendly.

A 2 course lunch with drinks cost us just shy of £70 so not that cheap. The young man who served us was friendly and efficient. I particularly liked the starter of 4 shot glasses with various seafood in each glass priced at £7.95.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Sledmere, Driffield
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.