We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland Tontine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cleveland Tontine to your Saves list
The Cleveland Tontine
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We ave been regulars at The Tontine for a number of years, we love the whole atmosphere of the place... It's special. The steak was wonderful and my wife had the cod which was huge and fabulous! The (legendary) seafood pancake was fantastic.. However, it's not really a pancake anymore... But I'm bring picky here. Good luck with the planned works, don't change too much tho

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ken S,

Thank you for your generous words. We are a very special place indeed. We don’t know anywhere quite like us.

We won’t change too much. We will keep that unique quirkiness and fantastic ambience you know, sometimes we just need a little change and a splash of paint!.

From all the Tontine Team, thank you very much and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Ian Elske
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    22
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
81
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After having a disappointing family meal at the Cleveland Tontine Bistro for my 70th birthday, the manangement invited us back and expressed their concern that they had not lived up to their good reputation. They said they would do their very best to make sure that this time we had a very enjoyable meal "On the house" and they certainly lived up to their promise. The food this time was excellent and the staff were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would like to thank the Management, Chef and Staff for this very kind gesture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear peterdee_13,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that we were able to make your return meal a very positive experience. It was unfortunate that we did not live up to the expectation on your previous visit, and we are extremely happy that on this occasion we have shown you that we are able to deliver a great experience and live up to our promises.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to regain your custom.

From all of us at The Tontine, it was the greatest pleasure.

Kind Regards
Ian Elske, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

In 1999 we had our wedding evening at the Tontine. It was the best experience ever. We have been back many times with family and friends and most recently went to sample a valentine's treat. The food and hospitality as ever was exceptional. We had a great evening of food and enjoyed the recommended wine. The staff were attentive, professional and relaxed and made us very comfortable. Our room for the night was beautiful and comfortable and the bathroom a delight. Breakfast was great and the eclectic morning room was just as I remembered it. Thank you all at the Tontine (especially Judith).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear JobiFA,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the Valentine’s experience and that you found your room to be very comfortable. We go out of our way to ensure that everyone feels welcome and comfortable and we obviously did a great job by your wonderful comments. And you are right, our Morning room is still the eclectic mix we are famous for. Judith is very happy to have a mention and is very appreciative.

From everyone here at The Tontine, it was our greatest pleasure to have you stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Elske, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the Tontine Bistro for my husband's 70th birthday for 8 members of my family. Over the years we have been there many times and had excellent food but on this occasion we were served cold, tasteless food. Although we all had something different we all agreed it was very disappointing, very expensive. All in all a spoilt family evening. Wished we had gone to Crab & Lobster.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear alvena123,

Thank you for your comments regarding your lunch.
I am extremely apologetic that we did not live up to our usual high standards regarding food. As you mentioned, on every other occasion when you have dined with us, you have had excellent food. This has allowed us to look at a number of points.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to redeem ourselves when you return in a few weeks time.

Regards

Ian Elske
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

At in the restaurant when it was fairly quiet and had an amazing 3 course meal. Great food and friendly efficient service. The restaurant was cosy and makes got a great romantic evening. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear MattH,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you found our service very friendly, and enjoyed the meal, and at the same time having a wonderfully romantic evening. We do pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Ian Elske
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Celebrated nephews 21st with sunday lunch.... Loved the choice of starters that were a small twist on mains .. ie soup with cheese toastie... Very delicately done... Unfortunately only a choice of 4 main ( not including veg options) and they had run out of pheasant which was shame .....but we had chosen last lunch service so probably reasonable to run out... Beef was out of this world... And chef even went to trouble of cooking more veg for us... Well worth a visit for a special sunday lunch

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Please see below a self-explanatory letter to the proprietor of the Tontine inn

Urmston
Manchester


23 Oct 2012

Dear Eugene

I enjoyed our Sunday morning chat about those great days at ‘The Kirk’, and was equally impressed to see the boss hard at work over the kitchen sink so early in the day!

It was also nice to spread the word in person about ‘The Tontine’ to our in-laws from Sheffield, who had a great time, concluding with an ascent of Roseberry Topping in the sunshine, which burnt off at least some of the calories from the previous night.

Meeting you also provides me with the opportunity to give you some feedback about your hostelry – on both of my visits, I have been very impressed by your exceptionally pleasant and well trained staff who contribute in a big way to the sense of being in a happy, fun, place. It must be quite a transition for your young staff to start working in the restaurant proper, but they carry it off with a mixture of friendliness and aplomb. What is your training technique?

On the subject of training and management, I have fished out the attached article by the former Management Editor of the ‘Observer’, and hope it may be of some interest. Some American entrepreneurs seem driven to go to the “n-th” degree to find the perfect product, so Danny Meyer’s book “Setting The Table” may enable you to tweak one-or-two things to your advantage.

Again, thanks again for a great weekend, and I hope to stay again during 2013. Please also pass on my thanks to John for ‘Midnight Hour’ etc – the sense of euphoria is still etched on my brain 45 years later!


Best wishes



Alan Mason

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Tontine

Address: Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Staddlebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cleveland Tontine 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Yorkshire Hotel and Restaurant. Fine food and wine,sumptuous overnight accommodation and flawless service in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cleveland Tontine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Tontine Hotel Staddlebridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland Tontine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.