We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury just off the A1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction A1 / A66 Richmond | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury just off the A1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here a few days ago ( a Sunday night ) for one night only.
The good impression greets you as soon as you walk through the front entrance.
A friendly welcome and rapid checkin. My room was on the 1st floor and was very quiet.
The room was immaculate and bathroom also. Kingsize bed and comfortable mattress led to an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room and was very good - help yourself system. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quieter bedrooms are mostly at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable time.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    115
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
127
13
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a really good Holiday Inn, albeit in a strange place. There isn't a lot local to the hotel, other than a service area, so the hotel needs to be pretty self contained. The rooms are nicely decorated as are the public areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay to visit North Yorkshire or the North East. Clean comfortable rooms, great food and leisure facilities. All round good hotel. Would definitely stay again. Richmond quite close, loads of other great little towns nearby as well. Good place for walkers to stay, beautiful surrounding countryside. Highly recommend the restaurant, varied menu freshly prepared. Staff very welcoming and helpful too. Tried other places but this is the best we found on our trips in this area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay, It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner. This is a very good hotel in all aspects and we both had an enjoyable stay.
The bedrooms are spacious, bright with modern décor and all the amenities needed for an overnight stay. The whole hotel is modern and airy and has a quality feel.
We ate in the dining room on the first night, as it was part of our excellent Superbreak package. The menu was extensive and served in a modern, trendy dining room - the quality of the food was excellent. Breakfast was also of a high standard with everything provided to satisfy most people's tastes. The hotel is situated at a major junction leading to key routes with Richmond, Darlington and Durham all being nearby. A surprising find!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room away from the main entrance. Windows are well double glazed and the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Darlington. It's lovely to hear your break away was so enjoyable and relaxing.

We hope to welcome you both back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a stop over for a business trip.

We were not expecting too much mainly due to the location.

Our meeting date had changed so I had to change reservation, this was hassle free.

Check in was great.

Our room was executive room on first floor. Nicely decorated with a nice large bed and a bathroom with shower.

Room service was fantastic, food lovely and arrived quickly and hot.

Bed was comfy but the noise from the road did wake me up a few times.

Breakfast was good although we did have to wait for some of the cooked breakfast. Overheard manager telling staff to ignore what chef had said about warming food, thought that was a little unprofessional.

Check our was quick & easy.

Overall the hotel was well presented and good value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable time. I do appreciate your comments regarding conversations between staff and that will be dealt with.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in an Executive double room on our travels to and from the north. A fully equipped with mini bar and a huge bed ... A very comfortable stop over. The restaurant facilities very worthy of a visit, good selection of food and cocktails on the menu

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review on your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear the hotel was ideal for your stop over.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Excellent hotel, very clean and lovely decor, food is second to none. Wonderful breakfast which has a fantastic selection and help yourself. Would definately stay there again. Although situated at Scotch Corner it is extremely quiet and a great location for the north.
Room boasts a fridge with complementary drinks, a safe, en suite was excellent, lovely shower and very clean.

Room Tip: Our double room was on the ground floor and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with the variety of choices when it comes to our breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.