We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bramblewick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bramblewick to your Saves list
The Bramblewick
Old Village, The Dock | 2 King Street, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
South Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I ate at the Bramblewick on Saturday night whilst spending the weekend in Robin Hoods Bay. The food was excellent and great value for money. The restaurant had a relaxed, cosy and romantic feel about it.I had cod & pancetta fish cake to start followed by Lamb Balti which was delicious and a very large portion! My partner ate a scallop with black pudding starter then a sirloin steak the size of a dinner plate! Despite this he still managed the homemade rhubarb crumble and custard!!!The service was prompt and the host was bubbly and welcoming. I loved the quirky building and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a meal here this weekend whilst stopping in Robin Hoods Bay, the restaurant is cosy and intimate, the service was excellent and the food was exceptional to the point that my partner says it was probably the best meal he has ever had!!!! A perfect end to our mini break!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having stayed at the Bramblewick twice now and eaten in the restaurant three times I felt I needed to let you all know what a gem of a place this is. My partner and I love Robin Hoods Bay and regularly have a weekend break away from it all.
Having stayed at other B&Bs I can honestly say the service at the Bramblewick surpasses anywhere else we have stayed by a mile.
The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated.
The food in the bistro is the best I've ever had, presentation is excellent, and prices are very good. Haley, our hostess could not be more friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Thanks for making our stay so memorable again, Sue and I cant wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked 3 nights B&B at the bramblewick. We've stayed in several places in Robin Hoods Bay and this was probably the best and handiest so far. Placed right at the bottom of the bay and literally only feet away from the sea. The rooms aren't massive but all you need for a comfy sleepover. Excellent breakfast included in the price and an extremely friendly host called Hayley. We've eaten in the restaurant previously and can very much recommend it. Try the ghost walk if you choose to stay. It's a lot of fun and very informative in terms of local history.
Thanks for being the perfect host Hayley!
Ash & Lin (Manchester & Middlesbrough)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On a positive note, it's a really cute name and it's about ten steps from the water. It's great to stay down at the harbour in Robins Hoods Bay ( if you can deal with getting your luggage out of there) but I would suggest you look around for another place to stay in the lower town.
It's an old building, and that's fine, but one had to walk several steps down a pitch black hallway before the motion sensor turned on the light. The hallways are ver narrow and was blocked by a vacuum cleaner that we finally moved ourselves. The room was claustrophobic and the carpet did not feel clean. The shower is 2 1/5 feet square and the water was a trickle that sometimes died completely. God forbid there should ever be a fire.
Perhaps the focus of the management is on the restaurant and the B&B is an afterthought that is supposed to run itself. Breakfast is very late, 9:00 or 9:30 at their convenience, not yours.
One morning it was half an hour before they took our order, and the next morning they were out of muesli and yogurt.
We are tolerant travelers who have stayed in all sorts of places and many, many B&Bs; this is one of the very few I would not recommend. Sorry,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Just back after another stay at the Bramblewick we feel very relaxed, Hayley & Dan are the most welcoming hosts the food in the Bramblewick is gorgeous I highly recommend the b&b & restaurant.

We will definitely return next year and will be sending our friends & family there too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having never been to Robin Hood's Bay before this little hotel/b & b certainly helped to make my stay a very memorable one. The owner is extremely pleasant and cheerful and it seemed that nothing was too much bother.
However do be prepared for a lot of noise in the morning - I doubt you will get the chance to sleep in. Not sure whether it was deliveries or fishermen, but from about 6 a.m. it's loud!! That and the birds - which can't be helped. But this did not really detract from my stay, people have to work, it's life.
We had dinner here one night and the food was fabulous, would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bramblewick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bramblewick

Address: Old Village, The Dock | 2 King Street, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bramblewick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bramblewick Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Bramblewick Robin Hoods Bay
The Bramblewick Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bramblewick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.