We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saxon Villa to your Saves list
Saxon Villa
Thorpe Lane, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park Y022 4TH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER OFFER 3 FOR 2
1 review
“Beautiful and very welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

First time we've stayed at Saxon villa and been to Robin Hoods bay and would highly recommend it. You feel like part of the family while you're staying there and the breakfast is the best I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
299
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the B&B for two nights, and I would highly recommend the stay. The room was immaculate, the views were beautiful, service was great and food was also lovely. Only a short walk from the Bay and a ten minute drive to Whitby, perfect location, top holiday!

Room Tip: We chose the sea view room at the top of the building, the view was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed three nights with a friend. Lovely house, tastefully decorated and very very clean.
Bedroom was spacious and comfortable with views to the sea. The owners, Des and Heather, are friendly and helpful and cook a very tasty breakfast.
Location is great too. Within walking distance of Robin Hoods Bay and short drive into Whitby.
Will definitely recommend Saxon Villa to family and friends and hopefully stay again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

my partner and i stayed for 1 night for a birthday present it was fantastic,the little touches that des and heather provide make it an extra special stop.the rooms are big the bed is big and the breakfast is big.you can walk all day on it. we will definitely stay againhanks again des and heather. from john and anne from doncaster.

Room Tip: we were in room 3 with lovely views of the garden and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my second visit to Saxon Villa. After raving about it to a friend, she decided this was where we should go for a special birthday present. This is a fabulous b & b in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.The house has been tastefully restored by Heather and Des, who are the perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble for them.Our bedroom was lovely, looking out over the garden to the sea. Superb breakfasts and very appreciative of the evening glass of port! Will be back for a third visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stayed for one night. But wished we had stayed for much longer. The whole house is very tastefully decorated and bathrooms are top spec. Des and Heather have paid a lot of attention to the smallest details such as funky alarm clocks, good DVD selection in each room, nice chocolate bars, toiletries, etc. The breakfast was very nice too and Des and Heather were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My friend had been to Saxon Villa before and highly recommended it, so this was an obvious place to stay when the two of us wanted to visit Robin Hood's Bay. Even so Saxon Villa exceeded my expectations. Heather and Des were so welcoming and helpful. The house is beautiful, with many nice features, our room was pleasant and very clean, and the breakfasts were lovely, especially all the choices of fruits. And when we thought things couldn't get better, there was a note for us coming back in the evening inviting us to help ourselves to a drink of port. Absolutely perfect. A lovely place to come back to after exhausting walks - can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Villa

Address: Thorpe Lane, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park Y022 4TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUPERB LOCATION. CLOSE TO BAY and LOCAL PUBS. SEA VIEWS and GARDENS. LARGE SPECIOUS EN-SUITE ROOMS. TV and DVD PLAYERS. FREE PARKING. SECURE COVERED PARKING FOR BICYCLES AND MOTORCYCLES. Saxon Villa is friendly, relaxed comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation located in Fylingthorpe close to the historic and ever popular Robin Hood’s Bay. Saxon Villa is the perfect base for a short get away or longer stays. We are a short walk to upper and lower bays and are 200 yards from the Fylingdales Inn. Saxon Villa is a delightful family home which was built in its superb prominent position overlooking Robin Hood’s Bay in 1897. It was completely refurbished and redecorated between August and December 2011 using a successful mix of traditional Victorian features, contemporary comforts and finished with a beach theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saxon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Villa Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.