We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saxon Villa to your Saves list
Saxon Villa
Thorpe Lane, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park Y022 4TH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER OFFER 3 FOR 2
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in this lovely b&b for the Whitby goth weekend , everything was perfect form the welcome right through to the fond farewell that we recieved we will be back again. Also good taxi firm in town so no silly prices to and from whitby

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
299
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here at the end of October with a few friends and I cannot speak highly enough of everything. I can confirm all the good things said in previous reviews. Des and Heather are warm, welcoming and I nearly didn't leave!! The bed in room 2 is one of the most comfortable beds to sleep in. The only negative thing was probably my friends- a little noisy!! :-) I will come back again with my fiancé.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and my other half have recently returned from our stay at this fantastic little b&b.

The room we stayed in was lovely, everything was nice and clean and des and heather were fantastic hosts. They even learnt our first names which we thought was a nice touch.

We could not find fault with this lovely little place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just come back from our second stay with Heather and Des at their luxury b&b over the Whitby Goth Weekend and once again our stay has been wonderful.
Attention to detail, cleanliness, food and the extras of chocs and fruit cake on arrival are superb.
We have already booked for next April and highly recommend to anyone wishes to have a quiet relaxing base to see Yorkshire fro.
Thank you again to Des and Heather see you in 2013!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a lovely place we found. Spotlessly clean, really nice attic room with spacious en suite. Gorgeous view from window, sea and countryside. Excellent breakfast whether you wanted cooked or a lighter choice loved the fresh fruit and natural yoghurt.

Well situated for exploring, you could leave your car at Saxon Villa and walk coastal path from RHB to Whitby and catch the bus back. Had a good night at the The Dolphin Pub Folk Night (every Friday night) in Robin Hood's Bay , to which you can walk to in about 20 mins, perhaps a little longer on the way back ! Good food also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just what we wanted; not too 'in your face' but lovely hospitable b and b. Fabulous room and breakfast and I JUST LOVE ROBIN HOODS BAY- and SMUGGLERS restaurant. Best romantic place to eat in the area EASILY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Saxon Villa for 4 nights last week as a base to explore this part of Yorkshire. From the moment we arrived we knew we'd chosen somewhere very special. The house has been loving restored to a very high standard by Des and Heather. Our room, number 2 was wonderful; bright, huge and tastfully decorated. The bathroom was a delight, spacious, spotless with plenty of hot water and a good shower, the two steps down into the bathroom were no problem at all. Des and Heather have given great thought to those little extras which make for a perfect stay. For example, books both in the room and on the landing which you could borrow, plenty of good quality hangers in the wardrobe, including those for hanging skirts. Cotton buds and cotton wool in the bathroom, a flat screen TV with 10 DVD's (Des has a large selection so if you are having a quiet night in there is bound to be something which suits you!) wine glasses and a bottle opener, which we made use of a couple of evenings. There is even a two seater sofa in the spacious room, which Des invited us to move so we could look out at the wonderful view or the TV. Talking of the view it's superb, hills on the horizon, the sea of Robin Hood's Bay to the left and fields at the end of the pretty garden with a couple of friendly horses. One thing I must mention is the night sky! As Londoners we rarely get to see much by way of stars because of light poluttion, but we spent a long time looking out of our window one night in amazement at the vast numbers we could see. Definitely need to take a telescope next time!
Breakfasts were deilcious, we had the choice of cereals,with milk or yoghurt, various fruits including a tasty hot compote one morning and hot plums another. Following this was a choice from a range of items cooked to your liking, hot and fresh. Add to this copious amounts of toast, tea or coffee and you are set up for the day. They were able to cater for my husbands allergies too.
We knew we were on to a good thing when we met their cats and the neighbours' who popped passed to say hello on occasion!
Will will definitely be back to stay at Saxon Villa next time we are in the area. Book, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Villa

Address: Thorpe Lane, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park Y022 4TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUPERB LOCATION. CLOSE TO BAY and LOCAL PUBS. SEA VIEWS and GARDENS. LARGE SPECIOUS EN-SUITE ROOMS. TV and DVD PLAYERS. FREE PARKING. SECURE COVERED PARKING FOR BICYCLES AND MOTORCYCLES. Saxon Villa is friendly, relaxed comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation located in Fylingthorpe close to the historic and ever popular Robin Hood’s Bay. Saxon Villa is the perfect base for a short get away or longer stays. We are a short walk to upper and lower bays and are 200 yards from the Fylingdales Inn. Saxon Villa is a delightful family home which was built in its superb prominent position overlooking Robin Hood’s Bay in 1897. It was completely refurbished and redecorated between August and December 2011 using a successful mix of traditional Victorian features, contemporary comforts and finished with a beach theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saxon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Villa Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.