We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thackwood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thackwood B&B
Save
You added Thackwood B&B to your Saves list
Mount Pleasant East, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have recently returned from a wonderful break at Robin Hoods Bay with our family and stayed at this b&b. The rooms were clean and cosy as was the bathroom. Breakfast was enjoyed by us all before a brisk walk to the beach. Beautiful views down to the sea. The owners were very helpful and couldn't do enough. We shall definately return to thackwood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lovely stay (only 2 nights), clean rooms with fresh bedding and towels. friendly owners who welcomed us into their home. Breakfast was on time and just what we wanted (lovely layout). Nice little break which was needed before coming back to work! Unfortunately full of a cold but that must of been the sea breeze as I'm not used to it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went up for new year .. Started nice till she got the money off us.. She came storming in our room saying we are to load and shouting at us.. She made us feel so incompatible.. She didn't make us feel welcome.. Breakfast was poor.. We've had to leave a day early due to her

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy G, Owner at Thackwood B&B, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
This person's comments are not true to the actual event that took place due to his abusive behaviour other guests felt they had to leave our property at 10pm on New Year's Eve after we challenged him about this incident he wrote these comments. His girlfriend did not have the same opinion as she wrote the comment above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at the Thackwood for a 3 night stay in November , cannot rate this little B & B high enough, lovely rooms large and spacious and in a fantastic spot with its own car parking for guests which is an absolute luxury in somewhere as small and popular as RHB. Great breakfast cooked to an excellent standard , thanks Andy and your lovely family , will be highly recommending.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Thackwood B &B in mid October for one night when in the area for a friends wedding. We couldn’t ask for anything better, we found the owners very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and well maintained, and had everything we needed, even a travel cot was provided for our young son. The breakfast was first class and piping hot. We would definitely use again if looking for a base for Robin Hood’s bay or Whitby which is only a short hop away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a single night stay at the Thackwood , the welcome from the host was lukewarm ( and never got better ) the room was ok ( but cold ) the shower was tepid , the breakfast was only average , I would not stay there again as there appeared to be better places

Room Tip: try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned ,from this weekend stay at the thackwood ,B ,B Robin hoods bay lovely room ,beautiful sea view every thing you could possible want for a chill out wkend.The breakfast were just great ,with everything you could possibly require. Lovely family an very helpful ,my husband an I will certainly be paying them another visit .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thackwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thackwood B&B

Address: Mount Pleasant East, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thackwood B&B Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thackwood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.