We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mrs c” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Station Road, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free night stay, parking
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“mrs c”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Glen-Lyn 8th and 9th Nov .Cliff & Daph were friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast ,every where is spotlessly clean.Good location and being able to park in grounds is a bonus.Would highly recommend. Hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
195
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Glen-Lyn between the 5th and 8th Nov using their winter offer of three nights for the price of 2. I cannot tell you how lovely this B&B was. We were greeted by Daphne who was warm and friendly and showed us to our absolutely gorgeous room. It was very clean, very modern and the bathroom was just incredible with a lovely powerful walk in shower. The bed was comfortable and there was a wide selection of teas and coffees for guests to enjoy as part of their stay. The breakfasts were lovely with a nice selection ranging from a full English to a bacon butty as we well as the usual selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices. We were definitely spoilt for choice and on the second day opted for a simple bacon sandwich just so we could indulge in some fish and chips at lunch time - something we were unable to do on the first day as the breakfast saw us through the day. There is parking available for each guest room which I have heard is quite rare in Robin Hoods Bay. The price of staying at Glen-Lyn and you are definitely getting more than value for money.

Daphne and Cliff definitely have a little gem on their hands - we highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

An ten word review should suffice - Fantastic in every way!
However, Trip Advisor insists on 200 characters, so here's the padding.
Excellent, brilliant, clean, homely, perfect, food lovely, welcome first class - oh, and parking in RHB!
Couldn't ask for more, really

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent accommodation. Great place to stay, Cliff and Daphne were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The rooms are of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely. Met some friends from Gateshead and we had a great week-end. Would certainly recommend this accommodation and will definately return. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been wanting to visit RHB for some time now and either the weather conspired against us or accommodation was proving difficult to find. However this time we had it cracked; we stayed for three nights at Glen-lyn. It proved to be one of our better decisions. On arriving we were met by Cliff and Daphne and shown to room 1, a spacious king sized room with modern shower room. Both, I have to say immaculately clean. Really comfy bed and very quiet of a night. We slept with the window open and did not hear any noise at all except for the birds in the garden in the morning and the odd seagull (I would bear this in mind if you intend to stay in the lower town). We went down there the next morning and it was really busy with delivery vans, builders and a taxi. Don’t know what time deliveries start down there but it may be important to you if you like a lie in.
Daphne and Cliff obviously work very hard to maintain standards in their B&B and in our opinion have thought of everything. Tea/Coffee facilities in the room can be replenished from a dresser outside the bedrooms if you need. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious. You can help yourself to juices, cereal, fresh fruit etc; followed by a cooked option if you wish. All beautifully presented and tasty. I cannot stress how much effort Cliff and Daphne put into making this a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We bought a bottle of wine and two glasses were put next to it without us having to ask. You will not be disappointed in your stay with them. They have space for each guest to park a car, which in itself is a bonus in RHB. The people who were staying at the same time as us commented how beautifully decorated and clean it was and they were going to recommend it to their friends as we will; so you may have to be quick!!

Room Tip: We had room 1 but I'm sure all rooms would be to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 days in oct 2013
Food,Rooms,Location,,Free Parking, SUPERB,Top marks to Cliff and Daphne
Very handy for the walks and to get to good eating places,EG The VICTORIA Hotel, and the HARE AND HOUNDS at HAWSKER Thanks for lovely 3 day stay Stuart and Megan

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I have just returned home after a nights stay at Glen-Lyn. What a fantastic place. Cliff and Daphne are lovely hosts made us feel welcome as soon as we stepped in there B and B. Room was very clean. Breakfast amazing. Can't fault the place. Thank You.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Station Road, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Four Star, bed & breakfast in individually designed and furnished rooms to a luxury high standard. They feature king sized beds dressed in luxury Egyptian white linen. They are fitted with large 32" flat screen TV and freesat. Two chairs, Fitted ceiling fans, fully fire compliant, Generous hospitality trays, hair dryers. All have en-suites with showers and finished to a high standard, Toiletries supplied, fresh white soft Egyptian cotton towels supplied for added luxury. English breakfast is included in the price. Parking for each room. Rooms and towels are cleaned and changed daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen-Lyn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.