We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bramblewick, Robin Hood's Bay...Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramblewick

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bramblewick
2 King St | Old Village, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4SH, England
01947 880187
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bramblewick, Robin Hood's Bay...Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A lovely, friendly b&b, gorgeous food in the evening and wonderful breakfasts. Bramblewick is in the heart of the village and the rooms are lovely. Would recommend it and can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    74
    25
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Friendly and charming restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came here on a Sunday night in late December and the welcome could not have been friendlier. Situated in an old low ceilinged building the room oozes cosiness. The menu takes advantage of local produce and there is a good range of specials. We had scallops with chorizo and black pudding. This was a stunning starter, really delicious. For mains we had cod supreme which was a good sized piece of cod on a bed of mixed vegetables, very simple and very tasty. I had a good old ginger sponge which tasted good but came with a choice of cream or ice cream and I would have preferred custard. all this and a bottle of lovely Picpoul de Pinet came to about £80 for two of us. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect, Welcoming, Stunning food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked a table for six to celebrate the end of superb visit with our friends from Houston. On their last night in the UK we needed something special to top off the trip. Hayley and the staff at Bramblewick did not disappoint. The service was superb we were made incredibly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The scallops and black pudding was exceptional as was the prawns and muscles. The catch of the day was stunning and the steaks were cooked to perfection. The ginger pudding was delicious as was the sticky toffee pudding. What a great place to spend this special evening such fond memories.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

As soon as I walked into this restaurant with some friends we were made to feel at home. The lady that runs this excellent restaurant really knows how to treat customers well. I loved the atmosphere, it was so warm and inviting.
Now for the food!! Loved it, had the scallops to start with, they were perfect, I then had the Victorian beef stew and dumplings ( it was Victorian weekend after all) so tasty.
Loved every minute of this delightful restaurant and the lady who runs it was so welcoming, will definitely be going again and recommending this place. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant right down near the slipway in Bay. They have a wide selection of food which I believe is freshly prepared. It can get very busy in the evening so booking is a good idea. I've eaten hear many times and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramblewick also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North Yorkshire
Robin Hoods Bay, North Yorkshire
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North Yorkshire
Robin Hoods Bay, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bramblewick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramblewick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.