We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramblewick

Bramblewick
2 King St | Old Village, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4SH, England
01947 880187
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For our fathers 80th birthday we reserved this reastaurant for a family occasion, and it is a big family!! From decorating the Bramblewick in the afternoon with help from Hayley the owner, the event was a huge success. The meal was lovely and the staff could not have been more helpful. The personal touch was provided throughout and we would definately return and recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely warm welcome and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I popped into the restuarant during the day to book, before it was open, and received a very warm welcome from the hostess. A similar welcome was received when I went in later to change the booking time, and then again when we all arrived for our meal. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children, and were very pleased to have been given a lovely table in the window. The hostess immediately brought over colouring books and pencils for the children, and was generally very friendly towards them and us. The service was great and the food tasty, although the prawn starter and fish dish were a little on the hot side (a little too much chilli). We were rushed for time at the end as we were going on the ghost tour (I would recommend this too), so she rushed through our pudding order and afterwards put the rest of my coffee in a takeaway cup. The children had chicken pieces in batter which was very tasty, with a light tempura-like batter...it deserved a much better name than "chicken nuggets". It would be good to see more of a variety on the childrens' menu rather than the ubiquitous chicken nuggets, sausages & beans!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bramblewick at Robin Hoods Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions and are always so impressed by the warm and friendly welcome. The food is always amazing and the menu choice is varied and inspired.
The management are amazing, a family business which gets it right every time.
Try the delicious brunch whilst sitting outside with a piping hot latte and home made cakes.
Families are made to feel very welcome and my 6 and 8 year old look forward to going every time, Hayley the restaurant owner is super friendly and efficient.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easter Saturday Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having been advised to pre book our table, I was delighted that we were still given a choice of tables. As a birthday surprise for my husband it was a nice touch to see the table decorated and a birthday card waiting.
The food was truly wonderful, although a few choices not available even though our table was at 7.15 pm. Perhaps our fault for not realising that the last order was at 9 pm.

Hayley was most attentive and is a true credit to making the client feel special. Will we be back ?absolutely, sadly only once a year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited with my wife in April and had an excellent evening. The food was expertly prepared and the scallop starter was the best I have tasted in many a year. My wife had the sea bass for her main which was also outstanding. The homemade soup was delicious too. A good choice of non seafood selections were available . There was live music by a local folk singer which added to the already great atmosphere in this cosy restaurant. There was a warm welcome from the front of house team led by Hailey the owner, welcoming, friendly and professional. Our bill came to £70 for two (3 courses for myself and 2 for my wife) allong with a fair few drinks! A perfect evening we couldnt fault, a rare thing these days. Cant wait to visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramblewick also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Bramblewick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramblewick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.