We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable non-standard B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorpe Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Hall
Save
You added Thorpe Hall to your Saves list
Middlewood Lane | Fylingthorpe, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4TT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very hospitable non-standard B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wonderfully hospitable and welcoming host, and a house of great history and character. We had rooms on the top floor, one with superb views over the garden to the sea. Very comfortable beds (partially memory foam). This floor has separate shared shower and loo facilities, with the shower along the corridor being more adequate than luxurious. Cooked breakfasts lovely though choice of bread/cereal/fruit uninspiring. Lovely snug ground floor public rooms for wet days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Thorpe Hall and it is a really lovely house in a very nice location, as others have mentioned, there is a pub conveniently located at the end of the road which has a wide range of food.

The house also has a back route to a foot path down to Robin Hoods Bay which is a lovely 15 minute walk down (and 30 back up!!)

I know there's been a large number of really good reviews for this place but I'm afraid to say that despite all the good points, we really weren't wowed by our room - it was a reasonable size and nicely decorated but the ensuite shower room really was not much more than a cupboard in the corner with zero space to put toiletry bags.

The other 'oddity' was the bed, memory foam maybe? certainly not sprung and very, very firm.

I'm sorry that my review wasn't as positive as some of the others - maybe we got a different room?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Thorpe Hall last year following our wedding and it was a truly lovely place. The house itself is beautiful and atmospheric, with unique historic features alongside modern comfort. The room we stayed in had gorgeous oak panelling and included use of a superb bathroom with large standalone tub. Comfort and amusement were well catered for in the shared rooms downstairs, with games, books and DVDs. The gardens surrounding the hall are phenomenal - like something from a children's story! There's a very pleasant walk out the back gate through fields and woods down to Robin Hood's Bay town centre - the Hall itself is the most pleasant retreat you could imagine. Angelique and David were caring, well informed hosts and really made sure we enjoyed our stay. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have just had a truly delightful stay at Thorpe Hall. It is a stunning property, set in beautiful gardens close to, but not in, Robin Hood's Bay. We loved the rooms, ate fantastic breakfasts and were delighted with our hosts and their dogs, friendly sheep and inquisitive hens.

It was a very memorable place to stay and we hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

2 nights of pure home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for Angelique and David. The Hall is a beautiful building, the surrounding gardens are unbelievable. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. Our rooms where very clean, very comfortable and it was the best nights sleep i've had for ages. I cant tell you how good it was to stay at Thorpe Hall, you'll just have to try it for yourself. Cant wait to go back in December....and just a 2 minute walk from the local pub, which is good value for money and the food is brill.....

Room Tip: i had room 7, a spacious double room, with sink, kettle, wardobe and the comfiest bed. Not en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I loved everything about Thorpe Hall - a unique place to stay with a real feeling of history. A four hundred year old house, but one that's also very much in the present - with a family atmosphere and all modern conveniences. We lacked for nothing - Angelique told us to ask if there was anything we needed - if we wanted to eat cheese and crackers for instance in the evening and needed crockery or glasses for wine. There are three reception rooms on the ground floor - one the beautiful original hall of the manor house with wood panelling and an open fire - and one of these rooms has the only TV in the B&B. Breakfast was very good - choice of full English, cereals, juice etc. Our bathroom was private - but not en-suite - not a problem for us.
Thorpe Hall also has a great location with a footpath directly from the house to Robin Hood's Bay (20-30 minute walk) or Whitby a short drive or bus ride away. Pets are allowed.
Great value for a stay in such a beautiful, historic house.
We ate at the local pub - 2 minutes walk from Thorpe Hall - Fylingdales Inn - good simple food (pasta, steak, curry, fish and chips etc). Reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing break,quaint and quiet.Ideal location ,just a short strole down the country track to Robin Hoods Bay where you can while away the day,take in the scenery or take a drink and a bite to eat at the many and varied cafe and pubs.Good pub close by(,but not too close) that serves fine food and beverages, frequent live entertainment and a weekly quiz night.Our room was very clean, of average size with an on suite,more than adequate for our needs.Excellent cooked breakfast(other options available),hosts very charming and catered for all your needs with out being over bearing.
Would recommend this this special little gem to any one who desires a special place for a special time.
One thing to bear in mind is that Thorpe Hall is a Bed and Breakfast and not a hotel.
Rodger and Tracy......01/10/2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorpe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Hall

Address: Middlewood Lane | Fylingthorpe, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine seventeenth century Elizabethan manor house offering b&b, Thorpe Hall is situated in the stunning North Yorkshire Moors National Park, in the village of Fylingthorpe. The Hall is a short walk from Robin Hood's Bay and five miles from Whitby. The whole area is known for its outstanding natural beauty making Thorpe Hall an ideal setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorpe Hall Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorpe Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.