We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay: just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birtley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birtley House
Station Road, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay: just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at Birtley House. We have stayed here before and we are never disappointed. Everything is perfect! Comfortable rooms with everything you need. Breakfast is excellent. Just cannot fault anything! If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Robin Hoods Bay you will not find better than Birtley House. Excellent stay. Thank you Connie and Mike. Just perfect. We look forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As we were walking past we thought it looked lovely so we knocked on the door and Mike made us immediately feel welcome. The room was at the top of the stairs with lovely windows you could open(a big plus) and very trendy decor with a big bathroom. Position was excellent, just a short walk down to the most quaint village on the water with lovely pubs. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of fresh fruit before a cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: We like to be high away from the road but it wasn't noisy anyway. The place dies down at dusk wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October. We have stayed here before and we are never disappointed. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well equipped. Breakfast is wonderful, expertly cooked by Connie. Mike is always welcoming and the perfect host. We cannot praise this B and B enough. It truly is, in our opinion, the best place to stay in Robin Hoods Bay. Wonderful scenic walks along the Cleveland Way to Whitby or Ravenscar. We will be going back! Thank you Mike and Connie! We will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a wonderful bay window and you can see the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at this B&B. From the moment we got in we were made to feel welcome. The hosts, Mike and Connie, are friendly and welcoming. Our room was stunning. We like Birtley House so much we've already booked for next year

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A wonderful weekend in Robin Hood's Bay at Birtley House. We stayed in Room 6, a lovely room with comfortable chairs, a well-stocked hospitality tray and a bathroom with a bath and a walk-in shower. Connie cooks the most amazing breakfast, you won't need to eat for the rest of the day! Mike is welcoming, friendly and very obliging. This is a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable and a nice price. The breakfast was delicious run by a friendly couple. Close to local amenities, lovely views from the room. Nice patio area to sit and take in the scenery. Would definately go back again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just made our 12th visit to Mike & Connie's fantastic B&B, which says it all really. We like the B&B's location, with its proximity to RHB, Whitby & the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, its cleanliness, its roominess & the generous proportions of the cooked (or, un-cooked, if you prefer) breakfast but most of all its friendliness - nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. We cannot fault it. In fact, we've already made a provisional booking for next year! All B&B's should be like this .... the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birtley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtley House

Address: Station Road, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Also Known As:
Birtley House Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birtley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Birtley House to your Saves list