We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
Station Road | Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The long weekend was for our 25 wedding anniversary.
The room that we stayed in had a sea view which was lovely as the first thing you saw when you woke was the view over the village and the bay.The staff were very friendly and polite. We had meals in the restaurant and the bar and can say that the food was fantastic in both.
The only grumble would be the car parking when we arrived there was a function going on so had difficulty in parking,plus an elderly gent who asked us if we were residents at the hotel,we later found out that we had parked in his spot but that was because there was nowhere else to park even though spaces were allocated for residents.
Overall our experience was great and would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    100
    26
    15
    2
See reviews for
58
260
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a cream tea whilst debating staying the night, but based on the standard of this decided against it. The scone was dry and hard and there was only a tiny amount of cream which although is not a huge issue in the grand scheme of things was enough to put us off. The waitress was rather surely but the views more than compensated. Wonderful view of the bay is a real selling point and this place is right at th edge of the drop to the water. Those who relish complete peace and quiet will adore the sparseness and beauty but don't expect much in th way of a shop or cafe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback,also thankyou for your comments on our location and panoromic views.Sorry that you did,t enjoy your scones I would have liked to be given the opportunity to replace your scones if you would have raised the issue with us.Although we try to get everything right all the time from time to time minor things slip through the net.I do hope you will return soon to share many peoples wonderful experiences with us.Many Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As we stay here last year when we got married we decided to celebrate our first wedding anniversary here also and we are pleased to say it remains a joy. The staff are as friendly as ever and it was lovely to see the same faces, the restaurant is superb with a fantastic menu and can be highly recommended. Thanks to the staff for helping our special weekend a happy and memorable time.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 have seaviews and are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to give us some foodback,this is vitaly important to us in our constant strive to improve all aspects at The Victoria.I am really pleased that again we have fullfilled your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay.We very much look forward to welcoming you back for many years.Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had lovely service at this hotel, room lovely but the room was very hot, we asked for a fan and they had none? This is not the cheapest nights accommodation and therefore I think the outlay of £11.00 per fan would not break the bank and much needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to give us some feedback,I have taken your comments very seriously and the Hotel has now purchased some fans for the comfort of our guests,once again Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

just stayed at the victoria hotel for the 2nd year running and yet again outstanding.this hotel is spotless and has an attention to detail.we stayed in room 8 this year and think this room gives you the best of both worlds with 1 window looking out to the moorlands view,and the other window a sea view.all staff are so friendly and bend over backwards to help you,nothing is too much trouble.the breakfasts are fabulous and the restaurant and bar meals well worth the money.we are definately booking for a 3rd year and find the victoria hotel the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: 2 large windows giving you 2 different beautiful views in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to write a review.Many Thanks for your kind comments,we very much look forward to being of service to you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A long awaited visit to Robin Hoods Bay . We had never been into the Village before so everything was new . Parking was a surprise , very little of it and pricing reflects this . The Village and Bay are very scenic and well worth the trip . What makes it even more worthwhile is The Victoria Hotel . I would guess at Victorian , large and decorated in the style of more wealthy times . We found the service to be excellent and provided by staff of young to more senior . The food and drink was of quality and yet the prices were no more than average . The gardens were very spacious , grass well cut and seating was plentiful . Views from the garden alone were worth the visit . Our recommendation would be to park along the `bus route and travel in by `bus .

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View in advance of travelling .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to give us some feedback.I am delighted you had good food and service whilst at The Victoria.We employ local people both mature and young and only use local suppliers.
Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited Robin Hood's Bay last year and spent several evenings eating and drinking in the Victoria Hotel, so much so that when we decided to return to RHB we felt we had to stay there. We were not disappointed. We were in room 3 which didn't have a balcony but did have a small window providing a sea view. But what a terrific room! Large and airy with an enormous bathroom and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was plentiful and tasty, and with 6 real ales in the bar an excellent holiday was had. The hotel is in the best location in the village, right on the cliff top with uninterrupted views across the bay from the immaculate gardens. We were there from the 12 to 18 July and I think everyone knows what the weather has been like. Who needs to go abroad when there are places like this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments,it was a pleasure having you with us for a few days,hope to see you again soon,bring the weather with you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Station Road | Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.