We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulous accommodation, friendliest welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Save Saved
You added Streonshalh B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Streonshalh B&B
Mount Pleasant South, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Dorset
1 review
“Faboulous accommodation, friendliest welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Myself and a friend stayed here after cycling the "off road" coast to coast route. Even with us being covered in dirt we were greeted with a very friendly welcome. The twin room was spotless and well presented.

The cooked breakfast is just superb, with vegetarians also being excellantly catered for and the selection of homemade jams and fresh fruit on offer gave a great start to the day.

Nothing appeared too much trouble for Kev and Debbie, who gave great advice on where to eat and drink locally and ensured that the stay was pleasent.

They also accept credit and debit cards which is a great benefit if like me, you forgot to stop at the cash point en route!

I would strongly recommend this B&B to anybody wanting to stay in Robin Hoods Bay and will definately stay here again if ever im in the area!.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
145
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derby, derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

My partner Rosie & I visited the Streonshalh for 2 nights & wanted to stay more it was that warm & welcoming!
Both Kevin & Debbie went that little bit further than i think many other hotel/B&B's would by being so kind & attentive to us both.
A clean, modern, homely room was further excelled by the quality of the ensuite, very modern & gave me idea's for my own home I can tell you!
even though we were at the top of the house the room was cool & inviting considering the 28degree heatwave just feet away otside the window, the bottles of cold water were most appreciated also, how do you do it Kevin???
The breakfast was just that bit more than you'd expect from a B&B also with fruit to start, & I'm not a fruit person, which was excellent, fresh & juicy.
Followed by cereal, orange juice, tea or coffee(pay attention this time Kevin ha ha...), toast & a large traditional full english breakfast which you could add to or take from as you liked. Now I have a good appetite, but this nearly beat me i can tell you!
Kevin was at the time just recovering from a back operation but would normally carry your bags to your room but we gave him best this time, not next Kevein ha ha ha...
All in all an exceptional stay with so friendly, going the extra mile hosts & you'll see us again sometime soon ok! Oh & he's now motorcyclist friendly/aware eh Kevin?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Myself and my partner Peter Stayed at The Streonshalh for two nights.We was made tofeel very welcome right from the start By Debbie and Kevin. we was shown to our room which wason the top floor and it was lovely and clean and bright the view from the window of the bay was lovely. there was a a tray with tea,coffee,drinking chocolate and biscuites also bottles of sping water. the toilet and shower were spotless. nothing was too much trouble for the hosts we had a good chat with them and the breakfast was the best I have had starting with a bowl of lovely fresh fruit,followed by a good chocie of cereals and a lovely big full english breakfast followed by toast and homemade jams plus orange juice and of course tea or coffee the host were very attentive to our needs.
Will be going back again real soon.
You could not ask for anything more from a b&b The hosts always go that extra mile for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My sister and I stayed at this B & B for 2 nights on a tour of Great Britain, and we didn't want to leave!! We absolutely LOVED the town, and thought Streonshalh was absolutely the best B&B! Debbie and Kevin were excellent hosts! Friendly, funny and easy going they instantly made us feel at home! Debbie greeted us warmly when we arrived in the rain on Thursday, showed us our exceptionally charming, comfortable rooms and left us to relax.The rooms were nicely decorated, the beds were VERY comfortable, had lots of pillows and both were en-suite! The bathrooms were a good size and spotless!
Each room had a view of the town and ocean that was so beautiful, I took pictures out our windows! Flat screen TV's were mounted on the wall and tea was provided. The full English breakfast was the best we had in England! Fresh fruit to start with, tea, and toast. Then a hearty cooked breakfast of beans, bacon, sausages, egg and potato hash brown!! It was absolutely delicious and the "dining area" is bright and sunny, making it a lovely place to wake up in the morning! They were also happy to acomodate my sister who is a vegetarian. They provided packed lunches for us a minimal fee which was great when we spent the day in Whitby! The Bed and Breakfast is in the perfect location. Only a minutes walk to the bus stop, little general store and post office which was very convenient! The town is absolutely charming, set on a hillside on the ocean with tiny stores and homes along the narrow streets. Pubs are plentiful, with friendly locals and tourists and lots of good beer + cider! :-) We both agreed it was our favorite place we visited, and would definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome. we were shown to our room which was very clean and in good dercorative order. the breakfast certainly sets you up for the day very good choices. we asked for a pack up for our journey which was very good indeed and good value for money. i will be recommending this place to family and friends.
keep up the excellent work we will vist again soon

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I write this review with some reservations - I don't want too many people to know just how good this place is in case we can't get another booking! Streonshalh is at the top of the hill - between the public car park and the Wayfarer Bistro (both worth knowing) - which is rather a good location, away from the tourist bustle of the lower town, but near some good walking paths . It was a perfect B&B; very friendly, tastefully-decorated, spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors. The breakfast was superb - freshly chopped fruit (watermelon, strawberries, grapes...) followed by cereal and one of the best cooked breakfasts we have eaten - sausage, black pudding and bacon all local and very well cooked, beans, tomato, eggs... all followed with toast and a choice of home made jams.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borehamwod
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

this bed and breakfast is like home from home, upon arrival we met (mine hosts ) Debbie and Kevin, you were put at ease straight away, nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were great, we stayed on the top floor, and the view over the sea was beautiful, my father was in the next room to us and he also had a great view over the sea, now the thing to make a great bed and breakfast is the breakfast, and my word you could not fault it at all, it was great, fresh fruit to start with, you must have the fried breakfast, the sausage were great, also try the homemade jams, I would recommend the Streonshalh to all ages

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Address: Mount Pleasant South, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 11 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 7 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 3 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 3 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh B&B Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Streonshalh B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.